top of page

Related read

VU'ers Moving to SL. Why?

Second Life as we know it is a virtual world, full of interaction and creativity. Like IMVU, people go there to customize their avatars to represent themselves, meet new people, interact with friends, customize home spaces and more. It's almost a no-brainer on how and why Second Life and IMVU Instagram communities often run into one another, and why there are so many similarities! While IMVU is excellent for keeping in touch with your friends and hosting social gatherings on its 3D client, some say that Second Life offers a more personal experience given its full-on virtual world. Many also argue that IMVU is being flooded by children who have no problem getting AP and age verification. Which, of course, has caused a heap of conflict. IMVU is also making it harder for developers to produce what they want and will disable any established developer for a list of minimal reasons, which are unfair to the consumer. In turn, making the developer's decision to transition to SL easier. SL requires someone to be over the age of 18 to sign up and, the creative aspects are endless. In comparison to IMVU, Second Life's expanded ability to personally interact with other avatars, pets, babies and even do everyday chores and action seems to be the breadwinner that is continually keeping previous IMVU users coming back.


We wanted more factual information on why IMVU users were leaving for Second Life, so we’ve taken to the Instagram community. Here is what they had to say:


 

"When I saw that SL had better graphics and microphone capabilities and the ability to walk, I joined SL." - @afktwigs

"I didn't leave, I’m still on IMVU right now. But I went to SL mostly because it has better graphics and it takes better pictures." - @genvalentino.vu

"I still use both platforms. However, I prefer SL. Reason being, there’s a better sense of community on SL, and it's a lot more immersive and inviting. IMVU is cool too, but it seems like now its all about who looks better than who and what drama happened at what event. I’m also grown for that lol." - @Pariis.Abdul

"It just wasn't doing it for me anymore. There was no originality." - @queenaszh.vu.sl

"I was a creator for IMVU, and I never stole any of my work, but time and time again, I’d get reported, my shop would be taken down, or IMVU would message me and put my account on hold for minimal reasons about my products when I wasn't even a procreator. My ugly mesh heads were stolen, and IMVU would never do anything about it so since they didn't appreciate me or let me sell my credits to 3rd parties anymore. I decided to leave for SL where there would be more opportunities for me to open up more of my ideas and bring them to life virtually and I do not regret my decision at all because I am way more advanced than I was before." - @punklist

"Drama and fake ass people. One minute they hate whoever then the next day they’re best friends sucking the fart out of each other's asses." - @disabled_9

"Played both then just stopped logging onto IMVU altogether. I just forgot about it honestly and thought more of logging into SL instead..." - @yelsei

"IMVU became dead and boring, and it wasn't fun anymore. And if I do log on there, it's just for two people honestly. There's no point in IMVU." - @justsaje

"It got boring." - @asianklout

"It was boring as hell lol." - @jen_the_godess_

"I didn't exactly leave IMVU. However, I did want to try SL because of its open world. Also, how you can customize your avatar. I just wanted to try it, but it did not work out for me. It takes a long process for me to be able to understand it." - @seunhii

"Got bored with IMVU but I left IMVU way before joining SL." - @jhin.sl

"I still go on IMVU, but just for pictures. I left IMVU for SL because you can do way more things on SL. I like the graphics and the avatars better. SL has way more animations. You can not walk on IMVU." - @sladoption

"Because SL is more realistic and has more details, clothes, etc. You can buy private lands, houses and walk around." - @time1esss

"IMVU was boring and a lot of drama." - @yasminkeo

"I needed a change tbh, IMVU had been boring for a while, and I always said I would leave once I became a procreator. Plus I wanted to see what the SL hype was about." - @heathmade

"IMVU became boring it was the same shit over and over I felt like I needed something new and I felt like I could slay on SL, so I did." - @icyheaux

"Too many catfish lol I was getting hit on left and right." - @its_domiv

"Well, tbh I outgrew people. I played since I was 11 which has been for about 6-7 years. I was trying to make the most out of it, but I ran into the same people over and over again. I wanted to come to SL and start a business and enjoy myself for once." - @yanisian

"I was tired of fighting them yellow dots ._. And them stiff ass hairs. And now that I am on SL, I can drive my car CONTROLLABLY, don't gotta switch sex positions by moving, and I can use my legs to walk okkurtttt [pops gum]" - @chinese.rouge

"SL is more realistic and the quality is better." - @geegee.mackk

"I feel like I outgrew it for the most part. I used to edit it, and I lost my inspiration. The poses were all starting to look alike, the shop had a lack of variety since everything is usually cloned and both of my sisters and bestie had already left for SL so after I quit IMVU with my babe, we took a break for a month then came to SL." - @weylynfleur

"IMVU became lackluster and childish and just for the kids." - @tajandtrvce

"My ex-mom wanted to move and she taught me." - @kinsley.mae

"More freedom and better quality clothing and everything is more real than IMVU." - @je.dior

"I left IMVU for SL cause I had been on IMVU for more than 10 yrs and felt like I needed something with a bigger field and more options!" - @will.imani

"My SL fam left IMVU for SL and I came over." - @dic.ka

"It got wack, and too many immature people joined. MCY was disabling for no reason (also, due to little kids flagging)" - @j.efaa

"Because it sucks ass and I kept getting bored shopping for stuff." - @yazmynah.sl

"SL just seemed better. Like on IMVU, there's only so much you can do." - @lahefe.sl "Because basically, IMVU is a knock-off of SL. Its so much more you can do. You can actually make your avatar look how you want. You can walk around and actually drive! Like you can drive bruh!" - @yourstrulyyjayy "You can't do anything on there lmao." - @boujeebratt.sl "IMVU graphics suck." - @wiinterr.sl "Too many started playing IMVU, and I mean like 13 yr olds." - @nkavari.sl

"Because it's better overall tbh. If I were to break that down. It's much more interactive much more immersive, many more possibilities, opportunities, and experiences. There are more people in general. The people are more mature because the majority aren't children who are obsessed with looking the best, "fucking" and "fighting" everybody. The avatars look better. You can live in real neighborhoods, have actual businesses, drive cars, swim, fly. The list goes on." - @Shaka.sl


 

Writer: Destiny Copy Editor: Somiar

Photos: @destiny.sl, @Shaka.sl, @punklist & @yanisian

Related Posts

See All

IMVU Emporium

Have they gone too far? IMVU-E is a website linked to our virtual world. Though the site holds many features, the one it’s most famous...

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page