top of page

Related read

IMVU Love: Is it real?

There have been multiple times when I have told people outside of IMVU that I am in a long distance relationship with my husband. Their responses are normally always the same, “You guys aren’t together in real life like holding hands and kissing so it’s not really a marriage or a relationship.” For a while, I was believing them. However, I sat back and thought about it. My relationship has been just as real as my best friend’s relationship; I still text my husband every day, We have skype'd and laughed at each others jokes, we have fallen asleep on the phone together, we go out to the movies and watch all the new age stuff together whenever we can. No matter what, we show affection. So, why is it that my love across a virtual platform isn’t considered real love?


According to people, my love isn’t considered real because it isn’t physical. However, a deaf person can love a song and a blind person a painting. This may not make sense, but hear me out. A deaf person can put their hand to a speaker and feel the vibrations, the pitch, and the drops. Those details are what people fall in love with, the fact that we feel through the music. Perhaps it’s not literal for everyone, but it’s still justified as loving the music.


Someone who is blind at some point in their life can adore a painting. They can adore it because the painting has a feeling to it, They can touch it and feel each stroke of the artist brush or each pixel in the frame, They still have emotions from these pieces and allow them to make them happy, sad, or even cry. The fact they have no sight did not stop them from loving the painting it just made him love it on a deeper level than most.


I know this may seem hard to grasp or not make complete sense but IMVU Love is real, it is just as real as the emotions you feel in your heart for that other person. You share life stories and experiences as if you are right in front of another, You tell yourself that they love you and when they call and confirm you can only grin in joy. Your feelings are real and if you feel like your love for your partner or spouse is real and rooted deep in your heart then you can not deny the fact that you love is real. So before someone else tells you that it’s not real because it is online and not in physical form, remind them that not all things loved are in physical form.


Photographer: Kongan

Copy Editor: Somiar


Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page