top of page

Related read

Music Industry with AaliahTanae

The State of the Music Industry


The music industry on IMVU is one that people either know way too much about or don’t know anything about at all. It consists of a mixture of tons of people, role-playing, labels, award shows, networks and of course music. While some people choose to take on the life and roles of a single artist, others tend to go down a road that allows them to choose music freely and make a name for themselves. There are tours, concerts, and albums dropped, some artists better than others, but at the end of the day, it is always about the music. However, the music industry isn’t all about the artist, but also about those who are behind the scenes. There are the record label owners, the managers, the show host, the event planners, and much more. Verve X Magazine got the amazing opportunity to sit down and interview with a woman who has had her foot in a little piece of everything the industry has to offer. AaliahTanae a.k.a Aaliah, gives us the real tea about the music industry’s current state vs the state it was in when we joined, relevant drama, the differences between artists, and all the juicy details in between. Continue reading to get an exclusive inside look at music on IMVU.


 

So, what are your thoughts on the current state of the VU Music Industry?

Well, my current thoughts on the VU Music Industry is that it needs a lot of work. While there are many talented people and artists in the industry, there is also a lot of drama that stands in the way of progression.


How long have you been in the industry and where are your roots?

I have been in the entertainment industry since September of 2013. I entered the industry as a model at the time. At that time I didn't know anyone.


After you left modelling, you became a manager for some of the up and coming artists, right?

Actually, I became a promoter for several artists and companies before becoming a Manager. Before that, I was just doing reality TV and modeling.


So, how did you manage to go from being a low-level model to one of the most influential entertainers in the industry and never dropped a single track or album?

[Laughs] Honestly, in the beginning, I didn't know about the industry. I did lots of research and started to get to know people and be around them. I learned my way through the industry and by using some of my skills and experiences from the modeling side and bringing it to the entertainment side. When I started, I didn't expect to be this big person in the industry and that surely wasn't my goal coming into it.


Have you kept up with things going on within the community?

As far as the current music industry, with all these roleplaying celebrities, I actually don't keep up with that side nor pay attention to them. However, I am focusing on getting the original Industry back on track.


In comparison to when you first entered the industry, what are some things that you’ve noticed have changed?

Well, I enjoyed the industry around 2013-2015. It was a great era and we had so many talented people that had all different backgrounds. From artists to managers to business owners to TV productions and everything in between, at that time originality came into play and it was very active. People were serious about their craft and it was hard to be in the industry because you had to stand out. Now the industry is been falling apart.


Some people say that the current artists that are now in the industry aren’t good. What is your take on that?

[Laughs] I mean don't get me wrong, there are plenty of talented people out there that I have had the pleasure of speaking with, but what they are doing doesn’t interest me. I began a career in the entertainment industry with people who had to work extremely hard to even get a little acknowledgment. Even for me, it wasn't easy. So looking at the current industry, I feel like they don't know the meaning of what it’s like to be a nobody to having your own brand or path. Now you just pick who you wanna be and it doesn't matter if someone else goes by that same person. They post on Instagram and boom you are now a "celeb" artist and some of them are great at what they do and if that's what they wanna go for then so be it.


Do you think that the ability to use RL social media vs old school IMVU group social media plays a part in the issues in the industry?

Yes, it does. No one really looks at what is going on in groups anymore. Social media is where it's at now and personally I am ok with it, but I’m still old school. I still like groups because it gives you more space to post. But, so many people have a twitter, Instagram, or other social media’s for their VU. Personally, when I use IG I use it to post pictures but, I also use it to advertise things as well, but I feel group pages have more to offer.



How do you feel about the labels that are branching out and people claiming to be labels?

I'm not really too fond of them because they don't know how to really run a label. Most of them are independent labels anyway, but they focus on how many artists are under their label more than focusing on the artists themselves. Labels are supposed to help artists distribute music and things of that nature.That's what these modern labels lack. They also bring other labels down and talk bad about them. So, I just see it as people proclaiming things just for show or fame.


There is also an argument between indie artists and label artists (An “indie artist” is a freelance artist without a label) When the industry first started, it was rare to find indie artists because most artists were signed to a label. Now there are more indie artists, but very few seem to stand out from the rest. There are also many people claiming to be indie but backed by 20 other people.


What is your opinion about this sudden rise in independence?

I'll be very blunt and honest with you, there isn't a difference with that industry because if you look at it, they all do the same thing. But with the era we know, you have to know the difference between regular labels and indie labels. Indie labels are solely funded by the owner of the label. An indie artist or label has no one behind them, they learn and do things on their own. They may have just a few people who help them, but the same people who are helping them are also learning. They fund everything on their own, which makes them greater artists and labels due to their independence. I actually think that being an indie artist is better when you first start a career in the music business because most of them (not all) don't have that experience of doing things on their own. Indie artists have more to offer when or if they do decide to go to a label. I have always encouraged new artists to learn, research, and do things for themselves. Artists have to understand that labels are there to help them advance their careers so they are supposed to have the tools for them. However, if they start off as independent artists, they are already one step ahead. It also provides good foundation just in case anything goes wrong.


So, what are your view on the awards shows? How they are run, and the possible favoritism in them?

I hate them and don't support them because they are not done correctly. I’m being very blunt. So let me tell you when I put on the BET Awards, I did it three times and I NEVER had to ask who should be nominated, that’s the first mistake they make. With my position in the industry, I had to watch everyone, and I used all resources that were available. The second thing they do is use real-life ceremony names for their awards, i.e. The Met Gala, which gets on my nerves cause The Met Gala has everything to do with fashion and nothing to do with music. Then the nominees are always the same because they ask. So, of course with that their friends, family, and label mates going to nominate them. It's just a complete mess.


What advice would you give those just starting in the industry or wanting to be in the industry?

I would say stay focused, humble, work hard at your craft, learn, and do your research. Make sure you have clear goals set and check them off as you go. Don't take any opportunity that comes your way unless it's going to advance your career and if you are going to become an artist with your own name, well there is a spot for you in “The Original Industry” that I am currently working to get back on track. Also, don’t hesitate to ask for help cause there are people who are willing to help you, my dm's and inbox always open. Let's get this original industry back to where it started.


For more information on Aaliah and her work on making the industry great again, follow her on Instagram @aaliah.tanae and for those who are interested in coming over to “The Original Music & Entertainment Industry” follow that IG @theoriginalindustry.

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: TemptressCourvousie

Copy Editor: NabilaHomage

Photographer: Kongan



Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page