top of page

Related read

A Father and Daughters Unbreakable Bond

Hello, allow me to introduce myself. I am Jasmine Courvoisie. I am a member of the Courvoisie family and have been for 7 years of my 10-year time on IMVU. I have gone by many IMVU usernames till the one I have today and within that time through marriages and all my family name has never left me. Many people know about the drama, splits, and hoping that can happen within the IMVU families, but I could never do that to my family. Yes, it isn't as big as it once was. I have my Nanna, Papa, a few uncles, and of course my parents. I wanted to more aim this article towards the relationship I have with my father because I honestly don’t know where I would be today without him and here is why.

 

I met my father LeeVonAmirCourvoisie in 2010, and that is when she became my father. Yes, my father is a stud.

When I first met her, I have just lost my father in real life, and I was taking it quite hard. I was spiraling out of control and I also had just came out to my family about being a lesbian. So, like most teens, I rebelled. I didn’t have real family on IMVU at that time in my life because any that had claimed me wasn’t really a family. So, when my father welcomed me as his daughter with open arms into the Courvoisie family I was having thoughts that they would be like any other family I have had they will be a family one moment, then the arguing will start and I will be left out, but I was wrong my family supported me and had my back whenever I needed it. I wasn’t looking for a family or even for a father because of everything I was going through and LeeVon, my father, changed it all. If I and my father weren't hanging out, we would be taking tons of pictures. If we weren’t taking pictures, we were talking about life and how everything was going in our lives in real. I can honestly say I became happier and the pain I was dealing with became less difficult, and I started to accept everything that had happened in my real life. Of course, I still have my bad days, but my father will take me aside and talk to me about it. She will make me laugh. She was and still is my shoulder to cry on. Her words are always what I need along with her comfort to help everything feel less confusing. When I started college, I was out of the closet completely. If I said that I was stressed and lost that wouldn't even begin to explain where my mind was at that time. With all the homework, papers, classes, and labs along with me trying to balance a relationship. I also had to deal with my real-life family’s opinion on my lifestyle. Everything got worse again. I honestly didn’t know what to do or who to turn to. By this time in my life, my IMVU family had got a lot smaller than it once was, along with a lot of members not even coming online, and then you have the problem of time zones, so with all of that you would think that our family would have came apart, but the truth is it didn’t. The few of us that were left got stronger and whether or not we had contact through IMVU, we would make sure to still text and message through social media platforms. There were times we went ghost, my father more than anyone, but at the end of the day, we still tried our best to keep each other updated. While I had school stressing me out, I sadly was also in an abusive relationship. I, at that point was ready to just quit up school. But my father pushed me through the thoughts I had about quitting and luckily got me back on track. I honestly think if it weren't for my father I would have most likely left school. She helped me realize that I deserved better and I shouldn't allow my exes foolishness to stop me from reaching my goals in life that I was working hard to achieve and from graduating. She also gave me advice on how a relationship is supposed to be and how they were supposed to work, and that no relationship under any circumstances should involve one partner abusing the other, funny thing is when you go through it you don't actually realize it is happening. However, toxic relationships can affect you in more ways than one and mines was unfortunately messing with my school work and my life in general. I built up the confidence and nerve to leave my ex behind and graduated college with an amazing GPA. I often feel like if my father wasn't there to answer my message on Facebook that day I would have been in a situation I would still regret to this day.


It is still crazy to think you can build such a strong connection with someone online, and not be dating them or have a single thought of them like that. It is simply a Parent-child relationship. Yes, it is true that people form friendships and families on IMVU with the chance of it becoming more. But, the relationship that I have with my father, LeeVon is almost as close as the one I had with my real-life father. As I said earlier, it is one with a bond between a father and child that cannot is unbreakable. I owe her so much and all I can say is


“Thank you for being my father and for being there when I needed you the most. I wouldn't trade you for anything in the world.”

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Copy Editor: Somiar

Photographer: Geonix

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page