top of page

Related read

Oop & Zany


After stepping on each others toes in an unexpected open relationship, it was purely hatred-at-first-sight. Verve X Magazine find out how this couple overlooked the terrible first impressions and blossomed the hatred into love as they sit here, going strong for over two years now. They show great comfort expressing their feelings and sharing their secret to a long lasting, healthy relationship. We have the one and only, Oop and Zany.

How did you guys meet?

Zany: So, we initially met because we were dating the same girl and at the time it was sort of like an open relationship kind of situation. So when we actually met, it wasn’t a very pleasant meeting. It was almost like, “Hey! Let me introduce you to the other person I’m dating!” hotmess.gov.

Oop: Open for y’all - I didn’t know about it until I met you.

[Zany laughs]

Zany: Shut up babe. Then after everyone broke up I didn’t see him again for a year.


What were your first impressions of each other? Was it love at first sight?

Zany: You can say it was the opposite of love at first sight. It was more like hatred or something.

Oop: It was more like love at second sight - the second time I met her was about a year later and we became close friends.


How long have you been together?

Oop: 2 years, 2 months and.. 20 days.

Zany: You forgot the hours and seconds! But YES!

Oop: Bah Felicia!


How do you keep things exciting in your relationship?

Zany: I guess we have to keep this PG so let’s just tell them about all the silly things.

Oop: Between having fun with each other, playing games, watching TV and movies and our son Sam, we always have something to do. After two years together, I can honestly say that I still get excited to just be around her. I guess it sounds kind of boring but she makes me laugh and smile, all the time.

Zany: AW! That’s sweet, but also very true. We keep each other entertained and our little baby has the most interesting comments. Our daily routine isn’t a routine, we are the go-with-the-flow kind of people.


What is the most attractive feature about your partner?

Zany: Well! To be quite honest I love everything about him so it’s hard for me to pick. but if i have to, it would be his sense of humor. I’m a girl who really loves to laugh. It’s not like corny jokes. He just says whatever is on his mind and I adore it. Physically though, my husband has the best pair of pink lips. Just saying.

Oop: Hmm I’d have to say that I really love seeing the way she interacts with family and our son. She’s so loving and it makes me happy. Le wife material. Na’msayin! And let’s be honest, her booty is great too.

Zany: Hello?? Nobody needs to hear about my booty.


How do you deal with conflict in your relationship?

Oop: To be honest, 99% of the time our arguments are about something small. We can both be pretty hard headed though so our arguments can get pretty frustrating. But at the end of the day, nothing stops us from putting our differences aside, saying I love you and going to bed feeling better.

Zany: Yeah, we both have strong personalities and sometimes it just takes one of us to say “I love you” for us to stop, but he’s right. At the end of the day, we work it out and go to bed in love just like before.


What was the first thing you noticed about each other and what drew you in?

Zany: My husband has a sense of humor that kills but he also has this mysterious, intellectual side that blew my mind. I loved the fact that we could have those silly conversations and then have deep, meaningful conversations. It made me sit back like, ‘Damn I really like this guy.’

[Oop laughs]

Oop: I think the first thing we noticed about each other has to do with our first conversation - a year after the breakup. I think that first day we learned we could really have a conversation about anything. It has always been easy to laugh around her.


Describe your partner in 3 words.

Oop: Beautifulhotsexy, Lovingcaringsweet, funnyandsilly.. That counts as three words, right?

Zany: Babe, it does not work like that [Zany laughs].. But ummm. Hilarious, loving and ambitious.


When did you realize your partner was the one?

Oop: It’s kinda hard to say when. We had a rough start. We went through a lot and it took me longer than it should have to realize that she was the one. She was always there for me when I needed to talk and she took the time to really get to know me. I’m so glad that she’s patient, because I think most people would have given up on me. She’s been my best friend forever and I’m just happy and proud to say that I get to call her my wife.

Zany: I don’t think there was one specific situation that stands out - it was several situations. but I can say that every single day solidifies that my judgement was never wrong. We have been through hell and back and the fact that we are still standing today after all of those things, allows me to be doubt free.


What is one thing your partner does, but doesn’t realize they do?

Zany: So we sleep on the phone every night unless one of us is away or something. But within the first month of us being together I realized that he talks in his sleep, especially when he has really vivid dreams. It’s the most interesting thing ever!

Oop: When she sings!! Let me tell y’all this. It makes me so mad. She can never just sing a song, she always adds that extra, that little falsetto at the end. It’s not BINGO was his name-o, with her it’s BiIiIIiIngoo0o0o was his nameeeeeeeeeee-e-ammmeee-e-ammeee-ooo, but she does have a pretty nice voice.


What is your pet name for each other?

Oop: Uh.. Booskiedoo, huntee, sexysexyhottiehott - I like to call her random things so it changes a lot

Zany: I call him things that are pretty mainstream.. Babe, baby, hunny bunny and other things in the privacy of our bedroom.

[Zany giggles]


If your partner was a dessert, what would they be and why?

Oop: Chocolate covered strawberries! And not just because she’s jamaican.

Zany: Wow.. So the first thing that came to mind was this Apple Crisp Cobbler with Salted Caramel Ice Cream that I had one time - obviously I’m hungry - but it was the most interesting thing I’ve ever tasted and my husband is the most interesting person I’ve ever met!

Oop: At you being deep af..

[Zany pats her chest]

Zany: It just got a little real in here


What is your favorite memory with your partner?

Zany: Oh gosh I have so many. I would have to say our wedding would be my favorite.

Oop: My favorite memory was our wedding - it was a lot to put together but I loved sharing that moment with her.

Zany: Yeah, agreed. It was different than normal IMVU weddings, that’s for sure. It was a mixture of mine and his taste.


How do you cheer each other up when sad?

Oop: When she’s upset, I always try to make her laugh. But sometimes I think she just really wants a chance to vent so I try to be that person for her.

Zany: I’m not a super funny person. I can only say funny things in a moment but he loves quiet times where we just spend time with each other. So I’ll figure out a movie to watch with him - he’s a Harry Potter fanatic. Or we’ll nap because God forbid I ever begin to say the word, he’s already halfway to sleep.


How do you respond to someone flirting with your partner?

Oop: I pop off! Na’msayin! But I trust her completely. People can try all they want, but I know she’s someone that would never do anything to hurt me.

Zany: I have a horrible temper when it comes to others even looking at him strange. I do trust him with my whole heart but that doesn’t mean I can give somebody the business for even trying it. I am extremely protective of him.


There’s one cookie left. Death match or will you give it to your partner?

Oop: Is it a peanut butter cookie? If so, I’m gonna miss you, Booskie.

Zany: Oh yeah, it all depends on the cookie. If it’s a chocolate chip cookie from subway then I’ll be putting on my WWE bodysuit because it’s smack-down time.

Oop: I don’t even like the chocolate chips that much. You can have it!


What makes your partner blush?

Oop: I always try to make her blush but she’s like, “I don’t blush!”

Zany: No, because black people don’t blush!

[Zany laughs]

Oop: You can try..

Zany: Anyway, I think he blushes a lot when I’m giving him compliments or expressing my love.


Who asked who out?

Zany: He asked me out after a date.. I believe it was Thanksgiving, and he was leaving for a trip to Vegas.

[Oop laughs]

Oop: Nothing kicks off a relationship better than a week away from each other


Who wears the pants?

Oop: Me.

Zany: Yes he does.


Who gets their way the most?

Oop: She does. Everyone knows she’s spoiled.

Zany: I don’t think I’m spoiled BUT I do have things that I do to get whatever I want.


Does it take long for you to miss each other?

Oop: Lately since she has school and work and our schedules don’t always line up, it’s hard to get a lot of time together. I usually miss having her around a little bit after she goes.

Zany: He can go somewhere for 10 seconds and I’ll miss him so no - it doesn’t take too long. We give each other space to do what we need to do because sometimes missing your significant other is important.


Do you drive each other up the wall or is that just sometimes?

Oop: I think being together for so long we’ve learned how to push each other’s buttons. But by no means is it all the time. I’d say we just get on each others nerves sometimes.


Of course we drive each other crazy sometimes, but it’s the makeup that matters the most. We just had to learn to work things out. There are bound to be differences.

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page