top of page

Related read

FKBOY CHRONICLES: Chapter 5


It’s been a hectic week. My company just took on two big events that are supposed to happen within a week of each other, we just hired three new promoters, and my business partner has apparently left his brain on vacation at the Maldives. Ever since he returned from his honeymoon, the amount of silly scheduling mishaps he’s had is abysmal. To top all of that off, I haven’t gotten laid in two weeks and it’s starting to show in my attitude. This morning, I almost bit my secretary’s head off. I can be pretty mean when I want to be but she didn’t deserve to have my stress taken out on her. Maybe I’ll get her some flowers.


Chad’s phone began to ring, interrupting his thoughts and pulling his attention away from his blog entry. He fumbled through the pockets of his leather jacket, sure he’d just placed it there. As soon as he was able to grab his phone, it stopped ringing. “Shit,” he said as he looked at who’d just called. Brandi had been calling him nonstop since their chance encounter last night. As he was looking down at his phone, it rang again and “Brandi -_-” popped up across the screen. Chad rolled his eyes, let out a sigh, and reluctantly answered the phone. “Brandi, not now,” he said.

“Then when?” she yelled into the phone.

“Sweetheart, we’ve talked about this,” Chad replied calmly and softly, knowing this would calm his ailing lover down, “A relationship is just not in the cards for me.” He shook his head but was careful to hold in his sighs of agitation; Brandi could get really sensitive and erratic really quickly.

“But baby, you know how I feel about you. What about last night?” Brandi whined through the phone.

Chad ran his fingers through his hair and leaned back in his office chair. His mind wandered to last night’s memories: a night alone with Brandi. What was supposed to be a night of sex, weed, and wine, turned into foreplay, wine, and whining. She was always really good at ruining the mood with her endless recount of emotions and “what ifs”. “Last night, I was consoling you.”

“But you said you love me,” Brandi said, calmer now than before.

“I do love you, Brandi,” Chad replied as he tucked his phone between his ear and his shoulder and began working on inventory for one of the events, “I care about you and your happiness, and that is why dating me would not be in your best interests.”

“I’m tired of people thinking they know what’s best for me,” Brandi said, causing Chad to roll his eyes and shake his head.


In Chad’s mind, he couldn’t be with Brandi. She wanted too much from him without offering much in return. She may have seen her actions as caring and concerning, but he saw her as selfish and arrogant. As if he owed her some type of explanation for the walls around his shell of a heart. Was he lying when he said he loved her? No, of course not. But in the Romantic fkboy’s world, knowing how to love and knowing how to love properly are two separate concepts. He simply loved her enough. Enough to respect her and not hang up in her face when she starts rambling on about her hurt and ache.

“Alright, Brandi baby, listen,” Chad said as he sunk into his seat again after pacing the carpeted floor of his office, “let’s talk about this after work, alright? I’m balls deep in frustration right now.” Chad heard the whining in the way Brandi sighed into the phone and he sprung into action, “Listen, I’ll come over and lay in your lap while you play in my hair again. Just like last time, how about that, mami?” Chad said with a sly smile. He knew Brandi’s knees got weak when he called her that. The thing with Romantic Fkboys is they know the woman’s need to feel like his hero. Women love “saving” them because they misunderstand Chad’s weakness for authentic weakness, when in actuality, he’s playing her like the violin she holds so dearly. He knew how to make her feel wanted: by making her feel needed.


Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page