top of page

Related read

Founding your Greek Organization

Creating your own organization - Do’s and don'ts

Beta Theta Mu

 

Omega Mu Xi (Luxxry) • Can you Introduce yourself?

I’m known as Luxx to many. My line name is Alpha Male Legit, and I'm the founder of Omega Mu Xi.


• When did you start your organization, and why? I started my greek journey back in 2011/12. I pledged a frat that no longer exists. I didn't feel apart of a "brotherhood" so I took a shot at my own Org.


• What was your experience founding your own Greek organization? Stressful as hell. I didn’t know what to do or where to start. Good thing for me was that there were only about 4 or 5 frats at the time. But, there was another founder at the time. So, we just put our heads together and came up with what was known as SNT.

• What advice do you have for anyone creating a Fraternity? Most important advice is to do research, and that goes for frats and Soro's. There are way too many organizations to just up and create an organization. Being original is getting harder and harder. Stand up for what you believe in and don't let anyone persuade you otherwise.


• What would you say are two don’ts when creating a Fraternity? Don't create a Greek organization out of pettiness or spitefulness towards another organization. Also, don't create a Greek organization on the ideas of another org’s. For example, if you were previously in an organization and you didn't agree with something so, you leave and create an Org with a similar structure as the last, that's a no-no.


 

Xi Beta Sigma (Leakz & IIIXIII)

• Can you both Introduce yourselves? Leakz: My name is Rhea. I am a Founder of Xi Beta Sigma – Sr. Reine Brutal. IIIXIII: My name is Neya I'm also a Founder of Xi Beta Sigma – Sr. Reine Vivid.

• What advice do you have for anyone creating a Sorority? Leakz: You should make sure to do your R E S E A R C H, before presenting anything. IIIXIII: Second, make sure that you have someone to help you that's just as creative as you are.


What would you say are two Don'ts when creating a Sorority? IIIXIII: I honestly feel you shouldn't just throw yourself out into the public of the Greek community without having your Org organized and running smooth. It just looks messy, and it wouldn't draw people into your Org. Leakz: Also, never steal anyone's hard work that they have done for their organization. Because founders have put a lot of time, effort and dedication into their work.


 

Lambda Chi (deadilluminati)

• Can you Introduce yourself? My name is Sr Vidame Malevolent. I am the founder of Lambda Chi; my role is to ensure that the sorority is on the right track to achieving their goals.


• Why did you know you wanted to create a Greek Org? I knew that wanted to start one when I realized that I could make a difference, even in the smallest ways. I have been part of the Greek community before, but I didn't see anything happen. Everyone preached UNITY, and there were some fantastic events. However, that's all they were. I saw that there was so much more that can be done within an organization.

• What was your experience founding your own Greek organization? It was difficult at first. But, I am still in the process of getting things sorted and, of course, getting all the sisters situated within the sorority. It did get easier once I was sure I knew what path I wanted Lambda Chi to take. So, then I recruited hard-working, goal-driven ladies who have learned about the goals I have set for the sorority, and they support them 100%. The idea of fundraisers for real-life causes made the rest of things fall into place.


• What would you say are two Don'ts when creating a Sorority? Two big things you don't do when creating a sorority is to copy any other organization in any way, and do not start a Sorority just for "fun.". First and foremost, you should always be original with everything you do. Copying another organization shows that your organization has no meaning or goal, as they are based on someone else’s ideas. Remaining original can be difficult, as nearly everything has been done. But you must do everything your way. Truly showcase who and what your sorority stands for.

• What advice do you have for anyone creating a Sorority? When creating a sorority, the one thing you should always do is have a purpose. Know what your end goal is, and ensure you have a clear idea of what it's going to take to get there. Another essential thing to make sure of when creating a sorority/fraternity is that it is something you truly want. You must be dedicated to your purpose, and know it is a time-consuming process.


 

Zeta Upsilon (JussieNasir)

• Can you introduce yourself? I’m Zulu King Jendayi, founder of Zeta Upsilon.


• Why did you know you wanted to create a Greek Organization? I wanted to build men, stems, and studs up, and to also have the aspect of a true brotherhood like a family.


• What advice do you have for anyone creating a Fraternity? Always remain humble and have a great team of people that support your vision.


• What would you say are two Don'ts when creating a Fraternity? Never pressure yourself, or take all the responsibility onto yourself, because that’s when the foundation of the Fraternity can crumble and be destroyed.







 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Arieez

Photos: From the Greeks

Copy Editor: Somiar

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page