top of page

Related read

Phi Gamma Rho – Kiala

In December 2014 Narina (Kiala) founded Phi Gamma Rho Gamma Nu Cheetahs. This sorority is inspired by Narina’s RL where she tries to provide positive motives by coming together with other females. When making this sorority she chose the motto “United as one to rule as queens of the jungle.” to make all women realize their strength, to encourage them to hold their head up high, and also to teach them about how to love themselves. While this woman is a founder of a sorority outside of the greek life she is a mother to 3 kids and teaches computer tech. Read on to find out Narina’s favorite times within the Greek community, what she has been taught, and of course, her take on what it will take for unity.

 

How have the non-greek and greek communities impacted you over the years? To me, the non-greek and greek IMVU communities are the same. We do give a lot back to the non-greek IMVU community but, that's because that is where Phi Gamma Rho was built; which is the same for us all. So, I don't see the difference between the two. But, of course, I do try my best to reach out to other Greek organizations as well.


What would be your favorite Greek experience? My favorite greek Experience had to be when I first realized that greek unity did exist within the IMVU community. You just have to be strong, set aside your differences, and stay away from drama.

What has been in a Greek community taught you? It has taught me that just because we have different colors and different Greek letters that we are all the same, and that we all strive for the same things such as; unity, keeping good within the community, and holding on to everyone like they were family. So, I would say this community has definitely shown me love and better ways to give love.

What do you think it will take for the Greek Community to become United as it once were many years ago? First off, organizations have to stop throwing shade and trying to put other organizations down. The problem is some people don't care to be nice. The is so much judging and pointing fingers, along with fights happening over mascots, lettering, and colors. We are supposed to be one Greek family. all that it's there for us to use we are supposed to be One Greek Family. In order for unity to happen, we have to stop holding grudges.It's for us to be adults, and let this all go. This isn't a competition This is a community that needs to be UNITED.

What's the most important thing you teach to pledges, and other greeks? The most important thing I teach them about togetherness. I also teach them that most good things are not heard of and that they must be experienced first hand.


Would you say you are proud of your journey with no regrets? Yes, I am extremely proud of myself. People told me my organization wasn't going to come to anything, and I still managed with the help of my lovely sisters. I am glad I didn't give up because I am not a quitter it isn’t in my heart. Of course, it was rough but it was fun and I don't regret any of it. If I had to do it all over again. The one thing I would change is who I relied on for support to get to where I am today.

Can you tell me what's been the biggest moment for you in the past? The biggest moment for me was when we reached our 1st year anniversary. That's the moment I knew I had come a long way. That's the moment I knew we were destined to reach our 2-year anniversary. I am so proud of myself, and my sisters who have been here non-stop doing what we love.

Can you tell us what you all have planned for the future? We will be opening our cub's line in March, and we will also be getting ready to host our 2018 Summer Jam.The Jam its self will feature some of the best artists Amor Records have to offer.

What advice do you have for new organizations? Hold your head up, and come in with a positive mindset. Regardless of what happens know that today is the day you can start making a positive impact on this community for the future. But, never let anyone tell you what you can and can't do.

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Arieez & Kaileighn

Copy Editor: Somiar

Photographer: Kongan

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page