top of page

Related read

The perfect balance: An interview with Adielyse Jakobsen.

THE PERFECT BALANCE

Adielyse Jakobsen is very well known within the IMVU community, but have you ever wondered how she does everything she does and be able to, at the same time, be a fantastic mother and sister? Well, ladies and gentleman, AdiElyse is here to answer all of our questions about family, and how she wants to bring our community closer together! Read on to find out more.


 

WHAT IS YOUR FAMILY NAME? "We are, proudly, the Jakobsen Family."

HOW MANY SISTERS DO YOU CURRENTLY HAVE? "I have 2, Fay and Kara."

HOW MANY CHILDREN DO YOU HAVE? "I have two beautiful daughters."

HOW DO YOU BALANCE BEING A MOTHER WITH EVERYTHING YOU TAKE PART IN? "Well, it all goes hand in hand. Being a mother is my biggest blessing, and I feel beyond privileged to be the mother of such beautiful little souls. Everything I do; I do for my kids. I want to set an example for them that they can do anything they dream and accomplish anything and everything if they set their minds to it. So when I am choosing new projects; or companies to be part of, I look at it all as to what that project is; what the company stands for, the example it would bring and the impact it would have on my kids either now or in the future. I am a very hands-on mom so a lot of times I will bring my kids with me to an event if its kids friendly; which my youngest Maddie has joined me several times on the red carpet as my little date I always say she one day will grow up to follow her mama's footsteps. My eldest is interested in photography so she's come along to shoots and met with photographers and even I have had her take pictures a lot of times at family functions even at eight years old to show her I support her dreams and help her grow even now with them. Really, being a mom is the most significant part of my life and defines a huge part of who I am, my kids always come first before everything and somehow influence or are part of all things I do here in the community or with my career."

WHAT TYPE OF PROJECTS DO YOU TAKE PART OF? "Well, I am very involved with IMVU’s first official Girl Gang which my big sister Fay had started. Girl Gang is all about empowering women, bringing unity and positive change to our community, I also am involved with several worthy causes and movements that touch my heart personally. I work with the talented Stella Fire of Stellar Ink as part of her Branding Team, and I am also on E! News Radio which can be a bit controversial at times but always 100% and real truth. I am proud to be within these things to show my kids to stay true to themselves, and they can inspire change, they can fight for what they believe in. I embrace my creativity and my inspiration in all things I do along with blogging; editing and modeling, showing beauty can be found in all places. Which teaches my girls to follow their dreams, always do what they love and if you believe in something never give up on it. I want my girls; and along with my sisters who stick to their own amazing goals and projects, show others in the community you can do anything you can be anything. You can live a happy and full positive life. All while remaining true to yourself, your beliefs and your morals."

WHAT TYPE OF AWARENESS EVENTS DO YOU LIKE BEING INVOLVED IN? "Well, in the past I have been involved in events about Domestic Violence Awareness and Advocacy as well as Sexual Harassment and Abuse; both something close to my heart as I am a Survivor of Domestic Abuse as well as Sexual Assault. I love being part of awareness events for Women's Rights and Empowerment, events for Animal Rights and Protection, Child safety; or talking about Childhood assault and violence bringing awareness and a way to stop even for just one child. Events for those with addiction showing support and offering hope and help. I have such a wide range of causes I love being involved in and feel like I find new ones all the time with there always being something that comes to light. Another is a recent campaign done by Stellar Ink for Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome Awareness; I battle CVS in the real world, so that touched my heart; any awareness campaign or event for any health issues is always one I am eager to jump on board and help."

WHAT DOES FAMILY MEAN TO YOU? "Family means so many things; Family is everything. Family means unconditional love, we always support one another and are still there to hold each other's crown up. We will always have each other's back and be at each other's side. We might not always agree, and sometimes we don't agree with each other's choices or decisions, but even if we don't, we will still support each other, in whatever we are doing or whatever is going on. Family means to me being real with each other and being yourself with those who accept and love you for that. My family is my best friends, confidants, my strength and my drive. And I hope I am to them as well; we are extremely close so in the end. Family to me is that love, that bond we have and being there no matter what. We are unbreakable and unshakable."

WHAT TYPE OF ROLE MODEL DO YOU TRY TO REPRESENT TO YOUR FAMILY? "Well, I try to be a role model that shows: Positivity, Strength, Honesty -- meaning both being honest and truthful to myself and of course being an honest person, Inner Beauty and someone people can go to if they need anything even just a shoulder or an ear. I try to show that no matter how hard you get knocked down, what challenges I am faced to get back up, power forward and remember I am strong; I hope in doing so to remind my kids and my family, and anyone else that as well."

WHEN MAKING IMPORTANT DECISIONS HOW OFTEN DO YOU CONSIDER YOUR FAMILY VIEWS? "Oh, my family's input and thoughts mean the world to me. I always go to them to see what they think; we often make decisions as a family especially the big important ones --- and especially if it affects the whole family. Even then, my sisters thoughts and input means the world to me, so I always go to them for their opinions when I have big decisions to make. We are a family, a team. We are in everything together."

HOW HAS FAMILY LIFE CHANGED WHO YOU ARE AS A PERSON? "It's made me better. My family makes everything better. They drive me harder, and they inspire me. And remind me of who I am. My family has made everything so much better and has influenced and changed me for the better."

HOW DO YOU COMPARE YOUR FAMILY TO MOST FAMILIES ON IMVU? "Honestly, I don't compare my family to anyone else because everyone has their dynamic or their feel of how a family should be. However, in our family we have values we stick by that you see so many others don't and that's okay. For us, we don't do drama, we talk about our problems one on one, and not publicly, we defend each other against anyone outside our family trying to come at any one of us, and we are a team a unit. Some families you see members jumping from different roles, or even in some areas, people date their family members which I personally find appalling. This is something you wouldn't see in the Jakobsen's. I have two beautiful daughters, but my sisters also are so involved in helping raise them into strong, beautiful human beings...we are a team in everything. You don't see that often in families on IMVU. I'm proud to be part of one that is so strong, we hold our own set of values and morals both personally as individuals and as a family and maintain a bond that I've never experienced before. But every family is unique, and their own and we respect and more so support that. My message to all families is to do you, do what's best for you and your family. We also do keep a lot of things private to just us; the world doesn't have to know everything that goes on, and that's okay."

WHAT DO YOU HOPE TO ACCOMPLISH IN WOMEN WITH THE COMMUNITY AWARENESS THAT YOU DO? "I hope to find more unity, less fighting against each other but raising each other up. There is no need to compete against each other so I would love to see more supporting of fellow Queens, less fighting, less shade, less drama less competition. We all are beautiful and powerful in our own right so I would love to see more women embracing that about themselves and encourage it in others."

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WITH YOUR FAMILY? "Well, my eldest daughter and I have been a family for 2 years now; my sister Kara and daughter Maddie joined us last year and Fay helped complete The Jakobsen Sisters end of last year."

HAVE IT EVER BEEN TO A POINT IN YOUR LIFE BEFORE MEETING YOUR FAMILY THAT YOU DID NOT TRUST HAVING A FAMILY ON HERE? "Yes, I did. I have over the years completely lost hope in finding a family; a family that was what I felt family is and should be...people I could trust and count on. But each time a member of my family came into my life when least expected... my hope was reborn and today I have that family better than I could have dreamed or hoped for."

WHAT MADE YOU PUT YOUR TRUST ISSUES BEHIND AND FIND THIS FAMILY YOU HAD BEEN HOPING FOR? "I didn't go actively really searching for my family. Sure I went and posted looking, but any time I did, I found heartbreak or just nothing. Each of my family members came when least expected. Both my sisters were my best friends before we became sisters and I had the highest trust in them already. It was when I decided to stop looking, stop searching I found...my tribe, my people."

WHAT IS SOMETHING YOU HOPE FOR IN THE FUTURE FOR YOUR FAMILY? "Well, we are working on a lot of future projects and things to do. I am excited to start working on projects and kick-starting new stuff as a family, but right now we are still working out details so not ready for the announcements; be sure to keep an eye out for it all. I would love to see our family grow at some point; I have thought off and on over the last several months baby #3 myself; however, I am in no rush for that! -Laughs-. So really just seeing what life brings us."

WHAT IS SOME ADVICE YOU CAN GIVE SOMEONE THAT SEARCHING FOR THE PERFECT FAMILY? "Don't give up own hat you feel is the right fit for you, what it is you search for in a family. When you least expect it, you will find them. So stop searching. Sure, it's okay to let it be known you are hoping to find one but let it happen because it will. Don't lose hope that family that tribe which is the right fit for you is out there."

 

Interviewer: HoneyR3llow Copy Editor: Somiar

Photos: AdiElyse

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page