top of page

Related read

Fase – @fase.vu

Amanda (Fase@IMVU) is a Manager for Havoc’s Kids’ Page. She started editing about ten years ago, honing her craft by painting with acrylics in real life and thus expelling her IMVU editing talent and career to new heights, “I used to buy DP’s from Seniha88 and Nygiaz...and one day, I decided to try and do my own; I was okay in the beginning.” Everyone needs to start somewhere. Thankfully for Amanda, she had a little help with the basics.


 

Are you all self-taught, did someone help you at the beginning? Tell us a bit about your journey. When I first started way back when I had this wonderful friend that taught me the basics. Her name is Nise. Unfortunately, we don't talk anymore, but I was lucky to have had her in the beginning.


Photoshop was where she started her editing journey, learning a lot about the world of shading and exquisite detail. However, during that time, most of the editing was done through plugging things in, “Like the hair was templates you could add on, such as brows, lashes, etc.” With growth, Amanda now draws everything and only adds when she needs to.


On average, how much time would you say an edit takes you? When I first started doing them on my tablet they would take me days... but I have done so many since and learned how to work everything. Now I can do them in a matter of hours. I do take breaks sometimes but if I really focus on one I can get them done fairly quick. Now it’s just about finding the time. I have such a massive workload both in RL and on here... I do my best to get them done in a decent time. I hate making people wait.. I know how that feels to really want to see it... the excitement. I have it with each edit... I love seeing how they unfold.

“The day I found out I was artistic was the day my life began.”

College life for Amanda was a lonely time, and she found solace in IMVU. After a pretty lengthy break, she returned around two years ago and the discovery of a certain social media site gave her the exposure she needed. “It’s been an adventure since I found IG in November,” she says, “it gave me the platform I so very much desired for my art.”


Do you feel being on IG made a difference for you? For my art it most definitely has. Someone was on my feed on here and mentioned that my work was being wasted and that I should go display it on IG. I was slightly annoyed by the comment at the time, but that person was dead on! I have a steady flow of income from it on here, but the best part was when Havoc came knocking.


Your edits have gotten quite popular over Insta. How do you deal with this? Well, recently I have pulled back from doing the customs for people. I wasn't actually getting any time for myself and my friends on here when I was taking them in. As much as I love doing them for others, I think I will continue doing just a couple here and there. It helps with balancing and it also keeps my messages somewhat not crazy.I can’t always keep up with them.


How did Havoc happen to you? They reached out to me one day back in December if I remember correctly, and I was so excited!! They have been so amazing since day one. Benz is an incredible woman. *smiles* I tried to be helpful in any way I could from the beginning and then one day she came to me to help manage. I was just so happy. Hard work really does pay off!


After being contacted by Havoc, Amanda was added to the team to help with banners, the features’ page, and eventually, managing the kids’ page with Pebbs. The initial goal was for the kids’ page to go live within a couple months, but the drive and motivation within Fase and Pebbs made the dream happen within just a couple of weeks, “I was a bit overwhelmed at first. I was buried in my tablet trying to get all the banners done while Pebbs was making sure all the kids [were bonding] and recruiting them to the family.” She still helps Benz with banners and projects from time to time, but her main focus is rounding up photos of the kids and posting them on the page.


Other than the busy life of a popular IMVU editor, Amanda does like to spend time on other important things, like friends and family. Keeping her social life intact, she tries to make an appearance at events and parties. She also enjoys dancing and hanging out with her loved ones. Considering how much time she has invested into IMVU, it comes as no surprise that she can point out some clear points of improvement.


“I really am here to have fun, relax, and enjoy some amazing company.”

What's something you wish you could improve about IMVU? I wish my friends that are mobile could sit next to me. Often I find they are not synced. And they could be a bit less stingy about what they allow.

What about the community itself? What's something you wish people would just get over? Stop being so darn rude. I think being behind a screen makes people think they can just talk to people however they want. I don't tolerate that sort of nonsense and I can be a firework in my responses.


How/where do you find time to balance it all? I have no idea. Sometimes I wonder how I have exploded. I go with the flow, sometimes pull my hair out, but in the end, I am smiling.


Editing, socializing, managing, and family, it’s quite a wonder that Amanda is able to keep up! Recently, she entered the dating scene and has been swept up by a certain someone. “I was very lost,” she says, “probably still a bit, but I found someone who understands that completely,” Fase admits that she hasn’t quite mastered the art of efficient balancing.


 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Xvd

Writer: NabilaHomage

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page