top of page

Related read

@mariahacarey

MariahCareyy started roleplaying Mariah Carey in 2014-2015.She has done a lot during the years like, performing, releasing music, and also releasing a line of mac makeup. This isn’t all she does as she is also the CEO of Virgin Records. We wanted to see what made her create VR, how she keeps such a positive environment within VR, along with any new ventures she might be having in the near future. Read on for more!

 

What made you create Virgin Records? Being a judge on IMVU American Idol (which I also started) made me Start Virgin Records (With 3 other artists, the other judges). The prize was 25k and a label deal. At the moment there was 1 or 2 labels; labels weren't a trending thing until we opened Virgin Records, so we decided to open a label and have them win a deal there. How do you keep such a positive, and drama free environment for VR? Well [Mariah giggles] Virgin is a label of just family. We make sure when we argue, we keep it to ourselves, and not blast it over Instagram like other labels. Our reputation is what we care for, even though the behind-the-scenes is hectic.

Why did you decide to start doing stages on IMVU? Oh, dahhling, stages are festive! Before I knew how to create stages, I always had a creative mind for them. My stages looked different from everyone else; they are more realistic and rare.

What are some challenges you have faced while roleplaying Mariah Carey? There were a lot of challenges. Trying to role-play Mariah was one; she's such an legendary artist to role-play, but I managed to live up to her standards, and with the media, a lot of people are tearing her down, ruining her image and reputation. It makes it more challenging for me as well.

If you could improve one thing in the IMVU music industry, what would it be and why? The whole industry! It isn't like how it used to be. There’s so much drama, award shows, etc. There's award shows every week, drama is every 2 days. The drama is most likely about nonsense! There's no creativity; everyone thinks they're a legend.

What are you doing to change the music industry for the better? I'm actually having customs stages for 5-7k (which is way less than I paid for custom stages before I knew how to make them), and the reason I say stages is because they can get out and do more concerts so people can show more support. Also, with Virgin Records, it will change the whole way you think about the industry once you get signed, because you're on a label with so many positive minds and artists who have done so much in the industry.

Is it a challenge to keep up with all that you do? It Is. I'm not even sure how do I do it! [Mariah giggles]

Do you feel like celebrities who role-play known celebrities get more exposure on IMVU than those who role-play themselves? At times, I do feel like they do get more exposure, but not all the time.

What advice do you have to people who wish to become an role-play IMVU celebrity? Follow whatever you think is right. Be prepared for a lot positive and negative things. Strive for the best and remain humble.

What was your best performance and why? In MC World Tour, I had some great performances. I had amazing visuals and the choreography was amazing! The stage was festive. I think that that was one of the best.

What projects are you working on currently? Which project is going to be the first to be released? I'm working on pregnancy, I also want to release that one first dahhling, before releasing anything else, but besides that, music is something I’m working on. I had to delay the album (Daydream) due to the pregnancy, but music is still coming out. I'm still writing songs for the album as well.

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Minore Copy Editor: Clyana

Photos: instagram.com/mariahacarey

Interview was conducted in January 2018

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page