top of page

Related read

Minstrel & Teasr

Jake and Matt, Teasr and Minstrel, are two bold, funny, independent individuals, who have been together since 7th of April 2016. They described themselves as the least romantic couple; so how do they keep their flames burning? Jake and Matt shared their light-hearted story with VXM, as they opened up about their way of dealing with negativity, and who wears the pants in the relationship!


- MEET MINSTREL.

“My name is Matt. I've been on IMVU since late-2009; a time when I didn't have any self-esteem. I came here to escape and to meet people who didn't know me personally. I actually started out as a total liar! [LOL] I didn't want anyone to know who I was, so I made up a fake persona to be comfortable on here. But overtime, I grew more and more confident and I eventually decided to expose myself to everyone I knew. To my surprise, nobody cared! Not one person. Ever since, I’ve grown into the most confident person I know on here and in RL. I’m blunt and honest; I’m the life of the party; I also have unwavering loyalty when it comes to my friends, and I'll defend them til my last breath.”


- MEET Teasr.

“I’m Jake, I’m 24 and I’m bisexual. I’ve been on IMVU since 2014; I used it like twice and then decided not to use it for about a year. Back then, I basically just got on it because I was bored and looking for something to do and different people to talk to. I basically had a bunch of asshole friends until like a year ago. I’ve worked at a few clubs on here and I work with VX Photography now; I try to find different things to keep busy. Aside from that, I’m in shop 99% of the time .”

HOW DID YOU BOTH MEET?

Teasr: Through Matt’s best friend, Kae. I went to the club they co-owned one day and started hanging out there. Kae brought us to random rooms together too. He and I did have a connection at the beginning, and she wanted it to be more. She was telling me he liked me on kik every day [laughs].

Minstrel: I’m pretty sure she had no idea. She’s pretty thick [laughs].

Teasr: I was actually in a relationship when we met. I forgot that detail [laughs]. But the guy I was dating was barely coming online so I was thinking about breaking up with him anyway – that’s why we waited a while before we started dating.

Minstrel: I wasn’t trying to date someone in a relationship but I did tell him straight up that I was into him.


WHAT WERE YOUR FIRST IMPRESSIONS OF EACH OTHER?

Minstrel: The very first time we met he said hi, then 10 minutes later he said he was working on an outfit in shop. I honestly thought he didn’t wanna be here and that he was shy AF.

Teasr: It’s funny, I thought he was a completely different person at first, but I remember being like, “That avi is cute and he’s funny.”

Minstrel: This was before I had come out of my shell [laughs]. We started dating before I was 100% myself.


HOW DID YOU GO FROM BEING FRIENDS TO IN A RELATIONSHIP?

Teasr: I was basically just debating on when to break up with my then-boyfriend and as soon as we got the awkwardness out of the way we talked everyday.

Minstrel: I’m not gonna take all the credit, but I am very aggressive [laughs]. We talked every day regardless of his relationship, but we just didn’t act on it. There was always something there, but we waited.


WHAT ATTRACTED YOU?

Teasr: One of the first things I noticed was that he could hold a damn intelligent conversation; half the people on here can’t hold a conversation to save their life. He was easy to talk to and I liked his avi of course, even though I don’t know what either of us were thinking back then. I liked his sense of humor, and that we both didn’t take things too seriously. We actually had common interests we could talk about, and even if we didn’t, we could still talk about it; like me talking about soccer and getting him to watch it.

Minstrel: I connect with people who won’t try to filter me and control what I say and he was no exception. I could go on and on about anything and he didn’t have a problem with any of it. He would even engage with me and talk about sh*t too. I also like how honest he is in general; it makes things so much easier. I obviously found his avi attractive too, but I liked that he could genuinely make me laugh as well; I’m very judgmental and it takes everything in you to make me laugh sometimes. He also just seemed like a good friend, and I like people that aren’t always bitter and whiny all the time.

HOW DO YOU KEEP YOUR ROMANCE ALIVE?

Teasr: We’re probably two of the least romantic people ever, honestly.

Minstrel: It’s like a good friendship, with our d*cks.

Teasr: Neither of us can take that RP sex thing seriously anymore so we just mess around, occasionally take pictures with our d*cks out and make sexual comments. That’s basically it [laughs]. We even find the BM rooms just to take pictures in them [laughs].

Minstrel: If you want a real answer, all I do is make it apparent that I still have fun with him by making jokes and sexual comments about that pixel booty and we’re always supportive about our passions; that’s what’s really important to me. I don’t need someone who’s in love with me to be honest. I mean, I can’t call him by a nickname without retching; he’ll call me bae and I’ll be like “WHO THE F*CK?


DO YOU PLAN ON GETTING MARRIED?

Teasr: We’ve had a lot of people ask, “OMG, when’s the wedding?” Never, sorry. I just don’t really see IMVU as a way to make a whole life, like wedding, family, job, etc. I mean, I have jobs, but you know what I mean.

Minstrel: I’m way too independent; I don’t want to be connected to someone in that way and I don’t want to be seen as a couple. I want to be myself and just happen to have a boyfriend.


HOW DO YOU DEAL WITH NEGATIVITY?

Minstrel: I can tell you with 100% honesty, that I literally never care. All it does for me is satiate my need for a good laugh.

Teasr: Usually when someone says something rude, we screenshot it and send it like, “LMAO LOOK WHAT THIS DUMB ASS SAID.” It’s just entertainment, I’ve gotten a lot of negative comments lately and I honestly love it because it’s just hilarious to me. It’s a great way to get a laugh. When people comment stuff on our pictures, I take such pleasure in responding with a smart ass comment.

Minstrel: I just love insecure straight boys, because they’re the biggest culprits, like “dw bb I’m not gonna f*ck you. I have standards. You can unclench now.”

Teasr: It’s the best! People think they’re actually insulting us when we’re sitting back and laughing. Of course people are gonna say negative stuff; were all behind screens. Call me a faggot, but die waiting for me to care.


HOW DO YOU SOLVE CONFLICTS?

Minstrel: Talk it out, that’s literally it. We don’t hold anything back.

Teasr: Yeah. This is another reason why I think we’ve been together so long; we’re able to have an adult conversation if anything is bothering us. We’re both capable of being honest if something is going on; we have a conversation about it, and we move on.

Minstrel: We haven’t had an honest problem in quite a while now because nothing is kept quiet and left to fester. That’s how relationships last and get stronger! As long as y’all actually like each other and have a real connection, you don’t need anything else.

Teasr: We’ve had very few problems, and when we do, they’re solved pretty quickly. Some people on here go crazy about it. Just talk guys, it’s not that bad.

Minstrel: It’s mutual honesty and respect.


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE MEMORY?

Teasr: We were throwing a pool party, we were getting stuff set up and I was in my furniture inventory looking for something to add. I was obviously searching for pool but I typed in “poo” and hit enter. Instead of going in the search bar, it went into the chat and it was a while before I realized that it went into the chat and Matt was just sitting there like, “Why the f*ck did you just type poo?” I was laughing so hard that I had tears in my eyes. It took me so long to realize it too and once I did I lost it. We were a mess [laughs].

Minstrel: I can’t think of anything specific but I’ve never have more fun than when we get drunk on here together. I’m already a f*cking tornado when I’m sober; talking non-stop and saying bullsh*t, and then he gets me going when he’s drunk and we’re both crying.

Minstrel: I’m already bad when I’m sober, but my d*ck is a magnet when I’m drunk.


“We both get overly sexual. Well,

we’re like that anyway, but you know.”


WHO WEARS THE PANTS?

Teasr: It’s equal. It’s never just one of us.

Minstrel: I’d say we’re both used to wearing the pants in our other relationships. I never really think anyone is in control because I just focus on myself since we’re both the same in that respect. I always like being in charge and I’ve always had a domineering personality, but it’s easier with him in a way, because I don’t feel like I need to take care of him and control him.

 

Photographer: Velichor | Interviewer: Somiar/Xvd

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page