top of page

Related read

Founder of ZXP

Zeta Xi Pi, the new sorority with great potential breaking into the Greek Community with an experienced founder, xKonga. We find out the reason she decided to make her own sorority after being in the greek community for over 3 years, a little about their brotherhood and her views on the importance of brotherhood.

 

SLXLM

​​

I’d like to thank you on behalf of VX Magazine for joining us here today.

xKonga: Thank you. I’m happy to be involved.

Can you start by telling us which Greek you founded, and when you founded it?

xKonga: I founded Zeta Xi Pi on March 23rd, 2016 along with xKimchix and Tsvchi. We are in the middle of our first pledge line.

Have you previously been in any other Greek organization?

xKonga: Yes, I have.

Do you mind if I ask which?

xKonga: I’d rather let them remain nameless if that’s okay. They didn’t really support or have anything to contribute in my new success.

Understandable. What made you create your own organization then?

xKonga: I love having sisters. I love the inspiration and empowerment a woman receives from other women who are genuine. I trust and believe in myself and the other two founders the organization to stay true to our core values and to hold ourself and our sorority at a higher standard than most.

You mentioned that you’re holding your first pledge line. What are you hoping the new sisters gain from this?

xKonga: So far the feedback we have received from them is that we are making them recognize the awesomeness within themselves and that’s exactly what we were going for. We want all of our sisters to feel empowered within and we want them to recognize their true beauty as it makes them feel inspired and motivated for the journey ahead. You can’t empower others if you don’t feel the empowerment within your own self, so we are teaching them to be proud of their positives and even their negatives because both experiences have pushed them in a direction to be the person they are today.

I like that. What would you say makes you different from other organizations?

xKonga: We are the sorority for those that are not easily impressed. We will hold everyone to a high standard and refuse to settle for anything lower than the values we set forth.

What do you mean “for those that not easily impressed”?

xKonga: We are looking for sisters who will hold themselves accountable for their actions and represent ZXP in the most positive light. It is for strong women who truly represent sisterhood with a genuine attitude in dealing with those around them.

How would you handle a situation where a sister would stoop below the standards, for example start drama?

xKonga: We understand that people will not always agree or have the same views in life, but it is how they treat the people around them. You must hold values that contribute to the betterment of the sorority. We are a new organization and do not have drama within. All and any drama will be eliminated from the sorority.

Do you have a brotherhood right now?

xKonga: Yes, Epsilon Xi Pi. The founders are xKONGE and lSmooth.

Out of curiousity, is xKONGE your husband?

xKonga: Yes.

What are your views on having a brotherhood and its importance?

xKonga: Any organization can live without an official brotherhood or sisterhood; however in my experience, with so many organizations out there, it is hard to be successful in Greek life without a strong support system. A brotherhood and sisterhood are like yin and yang. They go hand in hand with each other. It is important to be full circle because a sorority will require a lot of your time and attention and it is good to have the closest people around you to keep you motivated. When we are tired and exhausted, they fill in those gaps as we do for them.

Is it possible to “fill in the gaps” when two organizations are just alliances and not joined as brotherhood/sisterhood?

xKonga: No. I won’t trust just any organization to give me solid advice, treat our members with the utmost respect, have our best interest at hand, be our protectors and have that close bond that comes along with being a true and genuine brother. We barely get support from most other Greeks, people we should have been able to get the support from, that claim they support all Greeks, even after personally inviting them to just come out and meet us so we can get to know them and support them in the future. It takes a strong bond between organizations to have the support needed to be successful.

I respect that. Was it easy finding a brotherhood? How did you determine whether they were the right fit for you?

xKonga: My husband and I decided to found our own sorority and fraternity with our visions in mind. We trust each other at the utmost highest regard and when speaking about our ideas and goals for the future we asked the people closest to us to join us in building a strong foundation. It was an easy decision for them to be our brotherhood. It was the following 2 weeks of no sleep while we got ourselves up and running that was the hardest.

So your husband’s fraternity was founded recently as well?

xKonga: Yes. Epsilon Xi Pi was founded on April 6th, 2016. The reason for the difference in founding dates is because he was on vacation during a lot of the planning.

Would you say that you couldn’t have gotten through those two weeks without each other?

xKonga: Most definitely, the five of us wouldn’t have gotten through those 2 weeks without the support of all of us. We basically already knew the vision for the organizations before he left. The five of us spoke every day, all day long through text and kik. We came up with everything we needed and started working on the parts that we could do. When he came back from vacation, him and Chance went to work and caught up with us within 2 days at the most. Its called true dedication.

Amen. We don’t see much of that these days. How long have you been in the Greek Community?

xKonga: For 3 and a half years. You can basically say I’ve been there, done that and am doing it again.

What has the Greek Community taught you?

xKonga: It’s changed me as a person in a few ways. Most of all it taught me to be more patient, accepting and tolerable of other people’s personalities. I recognize that if a person’s actions are coming from a genuine frame of mind, then whether I agree with it or not, I owe it respect.

Have you learnt anything from being a founder?

xKonga: I just need to be on my p’s and q’s more. I have to lead by example and hold myself accountable for the same thing I hold everyone else accountable for, even more so. I have been in leadership roles in another sorority previous to ZXP and I believe I’ve seen what works and what doesn’t and I intend to do my best. I am honored that the women in our first pledge line have chosen us, it has humbled me and I believe it will continue to inspire me to be a great leader.

 

To the existing Greeks, we would love to support you regardless of anything that may have happened in the past or not, so please reach out to us and let us know who we can be in contact with for future events. To the woman and men who are not associated with the Greek world as yet, give Zeta Xi Pi and Epsilon Xi Pi the opportunity to show you exactly how a sorority or fraternity can make your experience exciting and self-fulfilling. - xKonga

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page