top of page

Related read

No Rules For Fashion: An Inside Take On Boys To The Bone and FAKEICON



Jack V Yuitza, 26, Sweden and Titzuki Yuitza, 29, Hungary, found out about Second Life through friends and family. Years later, today, they are the owners of renowned brands you’ve worn, seen, and love to adore – BOYS TO THE BONE and FAKEICON.


In this exclusive interview, our girl, Destiny, finds out how it all started for them, both individually and as a couple. Before they got down to business, Jack shares that, due to botters, he wouldn’t dare leave his house with his head – as weird as that sounds! Both, as humble as they can be and eager to help anyone with a question or two, Jack and Titzuki Yuitza.


“The photography part is what pulled me in the end,” says Jack, and, unlike many, their virtual lives started with Second Life. However, they both had played the Sims, mostly to do interior decorating or RP families, when they were younger. With over 6 years of Second Life experience each, they both have seen how the platform has evolved during the years, “SL was full of flexi hair and skirts with no windight, no mesh; it was awful compared to how it is now,” says Titzuki. On Second Life, they have, “Two unwanted children, they just sort of happened but we don't really do this family thing serious. It started more as a joke but it grew on us!”


How did you two meet? Titzuki: Hmm. Through Flickr, I used to make a lot of pictures at that time and then noticed this beauty on my feed one day. It was back in 2015, since then we talked that we both really wanted to get to know each other for a while before I finally messaged him. Jack: Yeah, it was a weird but amazing connection even before we started talking!


When did you officially become a couple? Titzuki: So, we first talked on February 2, 2015. We’ve been hanging out for a while and all. I wanted to ask him on the 14th, "Will you be my valentine?" Obviously, it would have been a great opportunity for a silly pun. But, then he asked me on the 13th if I will be his Valentine... I think that’s when we count it from. Jack: Yeah, I fucked that up a bit... but I don't really regret it, we are here after all anyway!


The two carry on with smiles and winks, joking about how Tizuki thought Jack would send messages through his pictures, “I might or might not have done that,” says Jack, winking. When we asked Jack the two best things about Titzuki, characteristically, Jack didn’t know where to start, but replied, “His passion for sure, no matter what he sets his mind to he does it with a lot of heart. And his creativity, being creative I couldn't see myself working with someone who doesn't share my passion for art in some way.”



In response, Titzuki shares how Jack’s pure heart, his ability to see the good in everything and that he always wants the best for those he loves is number one. Second, his creativity and artistic mind, which Titzuki thinks is similar to his are what are the two best things about Jack. He continues, “I always just wished I could get together with someone one day who has a passion for the same things as me. Now, I found him.”


Just like with every other couple, they also have their ups and downs. They consider their biggest difference is how sensitively different they are, which results in some problems from time to time which, after sometimes days or weeks, they talk it all out.


“We both know that bottom line we love each other and what we have when we are good is very much worth fighting through the bad for. It hurts and it sucks but when it's worth it, you fight through it!” – Jack


How would you describe each other’s fashion style? Jack: Okay, so I think his style is very street mixed with high fashion. His previous brand was more aimed to runway looks, a lot of editorial items that I LOVE. But, with FAKEICON he moved more into street and I love that side of his style as well. He is amazing with colors, something that took me a while to grasp, and he is a perfectionist with everything so his style mirrors that in my opinion. His everyday SL style is a totally goth hobo, though, since he doesn't have to dress for blogs or shoots, he tends to dress full black and most of the time half naked (not that I am complaining about that at all). Titzuki: Okay, so, he’s definitely very stylish, he likes to investigate the latest trends and make them his own and always adding his ‘hard rock’ twist to it. He grew up being a metal head since he was very small and it shows most of the time. Androgyny also takes an important role in his life, he looks androgynous in both worlds and he likes to play with that with his outfits too. Either he’s punk rock or diva but androgyny is what is always staying with him.


Although both Jack and Titzuki are now owners of their own brands, for Jack, his venture on Second Life started with blogging, which he started with a friend and ex, but never took off, “Then I figured I enjoyed it more on my own and slowly started to do some full perm textures for my MP. I didn't get into creating seriously until I met Zuki.” He reminisces about the first shared blog he did, which was basically his friend finding out about blogging, and told him how cool it would be to, “Take pictures and get free shit,” which is what he did, “I made some basic layout and we made like 10 posts I think. But, I got hooked on making looks and I already was experimenting with SL pictures as well.” For Jack, the more he saw users on Flickr experimenting with blogging, pictures and looks, the more he wanted to do his own, so he figured that doing his own was just natural, “I went to school for graphic design as well so making my own typography and such was a fun bonus!”




When asked the couple who their top 3 favorite designers are on SL and why they struggled! But, eventually, Jack answered with, “I really enjoy everything that I blog and there is an insane amount of talented people on this game. But I would do a personal shout out to Semller who’s also making unisex fashion with a taste that is close to my own, David Heather who is one of the first male fashion brands I found on here and Vive Nine/Ryvolter who makes amazing high fashion for females. I tend to squeeze my ass into quite a few of their creations despite the lack of male sizes.” Titzuki agrees that everyone Jack mentioned is amazing, however, for him, personally, he considers David Heather as the top designer, emphasizing his old brand – cashmere&keane – which he really liked for the bold colors and fashion, which was more street back then. In addition, Titzuki enjoys the creations of AMITOMO, Pumpkin, and COCO, although, lately, they have been focusing more on female items. Titzuki takes the opportunity to mention old brands that are worthy, KHOI and SORGO, who are both very inspiring and forward thinking to him, “I don’t know where they disappeared but I hope they come back one day,” Titzuki says.


Can you describe how you began designing and what inspired you to want to start your stores? Titzuki: Well, I had this passion since I was very little, I wanted to be a fashion designer since forever and even had a sketchbook for 10 years since the age of 7. Then, in my teenage years, I stopped doing that but my passion for fashion never left. When I was 19, I found out from my brother's girlfriend that SL isn't only about walking around naked. But, that there are nice hairs and clothes (as nice as it could be in 2008) and not only can you wear them, but also make them. The opportunity to make clothes made me join SL, so not much after I registered I made my former brand 'titzuki', built my first store and started to sell my first horrible creations. Jack: I’ve always been into fashion; I used to do a lot of DIY projects and such as a teen. Then, when I started messing with sims, I made some clothing of my own, nothing super advanced or anything but I enjoyed it. SL definitely brought it out of me more, introduced me to more fashion than I had before! When we got together, I already had a small full perm store, Beggars. by Jack, but Zuki made me push through and learn mesh properly. That’s when I started BTTB, to have a fresh start with original mesh and I have been exploring fashion in both SL and RL since then!


We all know that Second Life can be fun, addictive and hard to understand at first. When asked Titzuki about his process of SL meshing, he replied,


“It wasn’t an easy ride. I remember when I first came in, seeing someone make a cube seemed like magic. I've been here very long and got through each stage of creating. First, I made some shapes. Then, layer clothing and then I tried to make sculpties, which I never liked. When mesh came to SL, it changed everything and I became more enthusiastic about it too.”



Titzuki got excited that he no longer had to make clothing that system layer mixed with sculpties. For him, it all started with a fitted mesh shirt. However, he couldn’t wrap his had around 3D just yet. Therefore, he took a year break, got more motivation and watched a lot of tutorials. Today, he’s been meshing for four years and, although he doesn’t consider himself anywhere near an advanced mesher, he says he thinks he got quite far in these four years.


For Jack, the most difficult thing as a mesher beginner was, “EVERYTHING. I remember the first mesh I made; a simple planet bindi – it took like a week. Zuki has a lot of patience, but he was on the verge by the end of it. Since learning it more, though, I must say rigging. And, the fact that there are always new bodies and always new standards for how well a rig has to be, to not be considered broken; meshing is a never-ending learning curve, to be honest.”

Who would you say that your stores are for? Jack: I made my brand with andro themes in mind. I always wanted to concentrate more on the guys of SL who mainly gets to choose between 50 shades of slacks and tanks. But I want my store to be open to whoever enjoys the modern street style that I do, hence the unisex sizes. Real life can be very restricting on what you can or can't wear depending on your gender so my goal has always been to challenge that on here and contribute to a more diverse SL. I love seeing everyone from studs, to gents, to femmes, to even furries wearing my items. Titzuki: First of all, my store is for both genders. 99% of my creations are unisex, including the clothing. It's important to mention because, honestly, there are way too few stores in SL who cater to both women and men. My store is for everyone who would like something out of the norm, fun and playful. I would like to bring some color in SL, let boys discover their feminine side and make it happen for girls to be able to wear not only typical "girly" clothing.


Who would you collab with for the best turn out and why? Titzuki: That’s a hard question, I can't really tell names but there are several people who I would love to collaborate with. The first collab I made was a hair/jewels combination with #Foxy and, honestly, she’s a dream to work with. We got through even the hard things in harmony and peace, and we shared the work and helped each other as we could. If I could choose who to collab with I would like someone who is as easy to work with. Jack: That’s a really hard question to answer! There are a lot of talented creators who I could see myself collab with. But, personally, I prefer to have an idea or a visual first and then think of who would be the best person to finalize that with.


Do you have any advice newer people who are looking to learn to mesh or become SL designers? Jack: Google and YouTube is your friend; a lot of it you have to learn on your own or go on a course for. I noticed a lot of people expect to sit down and have another creator show them 'the ropes' but meshing is a very complex and advanced thing. So, my best advice is to follow tutorials, make basic items until you know the interfaces and how to get an item from idea to imported mesh. The rest you learn along the way depending on what it is you chose to make! Jack: And, of course, don't be scared to ask others for help when stuck, most of us don't mind answering a question or two! Titzuki: If your first language isn't English, you should learn it first. Once you speak English, there is waaay more help available for you online than in any other language. Then, you can ask either in helpful help groups or tutorials. Don't think that everything will come instantly it will be a lot of tears and frustration; there will be a lot of bumps. Don't let success get to your head and change your personality.


 

Now, for some fun and quick "Finish The Sentence..."


"I would never go in public without…"

Titzuki: ahaha okay so he [Jack] would say I would never go in public without… taking my head off

Jack: I WAS LEGIT ABOUT TO TYPE THAT – but i thought it made no sense

Titzuki: Honestly, I can't think of anything... maybe other then "i would never go to public without doing precautions for my safety and well being"


"I would never go in public wearing…"

Jack: Uggs or crocs. I love trash fashion but I have limits.

Titzuki: For mem pyjama looking jogger+shirt combo


"My guilty pleasure is…"

Jack: Mumble rap.

Destiny: hmmm, like 21 savage?

Jack: Honestly, some I dont even know the name of, they are just popping up on my YouTube playlist, but lil peep is a fave!


"One person I’d love to meet is…"

Jack: Tommy Cash. I enjoy his music and his fashion a lot, some items in my shop is inspired by him actually.

Titzuki: Yes, I would like to meet him too, and figure out how he is, when not a douchebag


"The greatest advice I’ve ever received is…"

Titzuki: From my dad, "Don't forget that you are just a little dot in the universe," aka whatever you do stay humble

Jack: Don't care what other people think. Zuki has taught me this and it's something I am still working on but it's a really good life advice in general!

Titzuki:




At the end, Jack concludes the interview hoping that all VXM readers will, “Enjoy our ramblings!”

 
 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Destiny Interviewee: Jack & Titzuki Writer: Xvd

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page