top of page

Related read

Mu Alpha Xi: The Introduction.

MAX was founded on August 10th, 2017. MAX was first created because Psy (Salacious) wanted to bring back the classic meaning of what it meant to be a true greek. To Psy/MAX, this means showing support to your fellow sisters and making an impact on people’s lives while at the same time giving a helping hand when needed. So, you already know we have to catch up with Psy herself to Talk about her concerns, and achievements, and how MAX was founded.


 

  • Please introduce yourself.

My name is Psy and I am the Sr. Dame Vivace Founder of Mu Alpha Xi sorority.

  • Can you tell us more about MAX?

MAX is a place where being yourself is what we love the most about you. MAX is not a place where being plastic, backstabbing and hate is tolerated because they are not allowed. MAX is a place where you can find your true sisters.

  • Why did you feel it was needed to make Mu Alpha Xi your own?

I have been around Greeks since the beginning. I have pledged others, tried to conform, fit in with others and met great people along the way. But if you really can’t feel yourself being at home in an organization, it probably isn’t the organization for you. I didn’t feel like there was an organization for me and after a while, I knew I probably wasn’t the only one with a bad run-in or had issues with other organizations. It’s not a competition for me or a popularity contest. I just want to be happy where I am while being surrounded by loyal, loving and unique souls.

  • Did you have any concerns while creating MAX? If so, what were they?

Negative concerns? No. Like I’ve said, I’ve been around Greeks since the beginning so it's not a new world for me. I have great friends, family, and a strong support system along the way. Patience is a virtue. But did I have concerns in general? I’m sure every founder has had those. But none that would have deterred me from my goal.

  • What has been your biggest challenge thus far?

To be perfectly honest, time management. There are days when I look at what MAX has become, where we are going and I’m still so excited. But you know, everyone has real lives and jobs. So make sure your time is spread out where it is needed and do not neglect your responsibilities or members. It takes a lot of skill.

  • What has been your biggest achievement thus far?

MAX as a whole is my biggest achievement. The fact that we are still standing strong with an amazing group of girls which I am proud to have gotten to know and call my sisters.

  • What is Mu Alpha Xi’s motto?

Our motto is,


"Practice like you've never won, perform like you've never lost.”



  • How does your motto reflect Mu Alpha Xi Sorority and how does Mu Alpha Xi Sorority exemplify your motto?

The way I see it, the main thing I try to get my members to realize is that life is about trying and taking risks and living positively with a peaceful mindset. We may not be the biggest organization out here, we may not be the most popular and we may not be the best at everything. But know when a Dame of Mu alpha Xi brings it, we will bring all we've got and that in itself is a win for us. That is how we continue to carry on with OUR best and not THEIRS.

  • What have you gathered from the Greek community and how did you apply them to your sorority?

The main thing I have applied to my sorority that I have gotten from the Greek community is something I learned from TPX which is not complaining about the lack of change. Be the change you want to be in the community. While everyone wants to rant about the lack of Greek unity and how this is fake or this one is beefing with others, I very much still believe it can happen. We can all be great together with no backlash and no shade. We will be that change that we want to have in the Greek world.

  • What is the most important thing that you teach and instill in your members, both old and new?

To come into Mu Alpha Xi as yourself. Do not come into an interview trying to sell us. Come in as yourself, go with the flow and find your place. Whether with us or not, at least you know who you are and where you want to be.

  • Do you have any regrets?

I can’t say that I do. I’ve met some great people and had great times with people who I consider as family. Everyone has been so welcoming. I couldn’t have asked for more.

  • What do you feel sets Mu Alpha Xi Sorority apart from the others?

We don't follow a script or an outline. We are just ourselves and we do what we want. I swear there is a ‘How to Start a Greek Organization on IMVU 101 manual out there.



  • How has the IMVU community, both non-Greek and Greek, impacted you over the process of starting your sorority?

Nothing but positivity. We get so much love and support from all organizations that are both big and small, new and old. We have been up and running for a while now. Looking at all the love we have gotten, it makes us feel like we're doing something right, you know?

  • What purpose in the Greek community does Mu Alpha Xi Sorority serve?

Now that is a hard question. We are not trying to lead everyone or be known as people who have done all this. At the end of the day, just making a small footprint in the Greek community is a great accomplishment as a whole. We just want to be different and enjoy our time being such. Whoever wants to partake in that love is welcome.

  • What are you looking forward to showcasing in the IMVU community?

Now that is something to be revealed in due time but it is coming.

  • Do you think the Greek community is united?

No. Because like I said, most of the organizations are formed from hatred and pettiness or everything is a contest or beef. Once we can be mature and look at things not as a competition, but as one strong fist then I feel it could be so much better. There are too many of us who are against one another and this is what is already hindering us from that united greatness.

  • How do you plan on uniting the Greek community?

Can’t do anything alone. All I can do is represent my organization and what we stand for. We love and support all Greeks. I feel that is already a step in the right direction, to lead by example.

  • What words of encouragement do you have to Greek founders, both new and old?

Make sure you are in this for the right reasons. There are too many ill-seeded intentions out here which are not needed.

  • Is it safe to say that Mu Alpha Xi Sorority is here to stay?

Sororities come and go but as for me, at this moment we haven't even scratched the surface so we are not going anywhere anytime soon.

  • How do you plan to guarantee MAX’s consistency?

There is so much we can do but like I said, we have great members. MAX is not just one person, everyone plays a role. We just have to continue being our best, pray and everything will fall into place as it should be.


“I founded MAX because, as a woman, it is great to have a circle of sisters who you can always depend on.”


 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: Kaileighn

Copy Editor: Chiq

Photos: @mualphaxi.vu

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page