top of page

Related read

Quincy Robin – Ten Years Later, Still Strong!

Quincy Robin is a 31-year-old from NYC, but a native of Trinidad and Tobago, she is a lifestyle vlogger and blogger from Second Life who manages and owns www.quincyrobin.com. We wanted to catch up with her and see how she got to where she is today! Read the interview below.


 

How long have you been on SL? "It's been ten wonderful years for me as a resident of Second Life™. I have been through many trial and tribulations, but I wouldn't change any of it if I had to do it all over again."

How did you find out about it? "I originally played IMVU for a little over a year. Where I collected and decorated spaces to share with friends, but even with all that I had obtained on that virtual platform, I was still seeking more adventure and limitless freedom to grow my creativity. In 2007 I came over Second Life that was being advertised on IMVU's website and curiously clicked the link that opened the door for opportunities to expand my creativity."


What made you fall in love with SL or stay as long as you have? "There are many reasons as to what keeps me here in Second Life however what made me fall in love with Second Life is the art of creating contents and sharing it with other residents. There are many ways of creating content. My vlogging and blogging are just a few ways of sharing with those who are a part of the Second Life™, those that are seeking information about joining Second Life, and the curious bystanders. We all get to enjoy and add to what makes Second Life a great and fun place. But I was sold at the fact that I was able to walk with my arrow keys [laughs]"

Do you have any SL family or children? "Second Life family for me, things changed over time. I was always wary of big families and the idea of children on this platform. That was until I met my daughter Terr Jedda. She is my everything, and I am so honored to be her mother. I have been her mother for a year now, and with each day we grow closer and closer. It’s amazing to me how much we have in common, from blogging to our ridiculous shopping habits, we are like two peas in a pod. I also have two wonderful sisters Avie Sung and Silver Shine Donardson. They are both my soul twins. Avie has been in my life since the very beginning of my joining Second Life, and Silver has been my sister for a year. In this virtual world you never know how long things will last, but as of now, I am beyond content with those I call family."


How long have you been blogging and has it changed any? "Within my ten years, I have had many blogs but committed to blogging in April 2017. It was the year I turned 10! and I wanted to do something different. I started my website and chose to be a vlogger which is challenging and educating to me as my skills have grown as well as finding my place as a part of the Youtube Second Life community."


Can you describe how you began blogging? "I decorated a lot privately while on IMVU, and Second Life as well as developed my sense of style throughout each platform, but never really got the chance to share it. I have always kept to myself and kept my circle very small. However, here I was proficient in most Second Life skills embarking on my tenth year on the grid and with nothing to look back on other than the memories of those joyful moments I had created."


"I was on YouTube one day, and I don't know what lead me to look up Second Life vloggers, and what I found interesting there wasn't a lot of vloggers that look like me or sounded like me being a black Caribbean woman not confining to a particular skin tone but identifying as such."



"However, what blew my mind was the lack of expression. We are mostly caught up in getting the job done and getting it done well that we lose sight of individuality and personal style, "Who am I as a person?" "Would I really dress like this?" "Would I really talk like this?" Then, you find yourself burnt out because you somehow committed yourself to someone else's vision and losing sight of your own."


"Vlogging, for me, has opened another door to express my excitement about the contents that are being created within Second Life. If you think about it – someone creates every single thing that is in this virtual world. The clothing we wear to the sims we visit, someone had to spend time crafting every single detail to make it an enjoyable experience for us. With that in mind, I also have my own personal style to which I gravitate to. I want to remain faithful to myself which keeps me grounded and consistent in what I put forth as a vlogger."


Do you do interior decorating for others or just for your blog? "Yes and No. I do love decorating, and it comes from a deep place within me. With every set I do, there is some part of me that is being displayed in the form of emotions. While I do love the feeling of making sets for others, and sharing in their excitement of it all, I am not very fond of seeing it torn apart in a moment of disagreement or being unappreciated. Let's say I spent all week long, for hours a day, setting up this fantastic setting for a client...only for that client to have a meeting in the setting for a few hours and return everything I did afterward. Again, that's apart of me. I spent all those hours matching every detail, making it as realistic as it can be only to be pushed off to the side. I made a choice not to subjugate myself to that, but to share with others on how they can set up a beautiful space of their own. It's not hard, but it also shines a level of respect for those that do spend hours setting up spaces for us to enjoy. I am not saying that I would never do a commission job for anyone."


How would you categorize you sense of style in fashion vs. interior design? "My style is rooted in my mood; fashion-wise – I like modern, retro and vintage chic. I also fancy leather and lace look, but with my own personal spin on it and most importantly I love anything that shines [laughs]."




"Interior wise, anything from boho to rustic and vintage I adore. I also like the idea of a space that feels lived in. Its important to me to fill my space with all the things that I love and that list keeps growing with the fantastic things that are being created in Second Life with each day."

Which would you say your favorite brands are? My top free out of a huge list of favorites would have to be:

  • Apple Fall: I watched him grow from his very first creation to a household brand. You can tell when someone loves what they do rather than doing something for a financial gain. Apple Fall is like a fine wine that gets better with age.

  • David Heather: I used to shop at his store before it became David Heather as we know it. His idea of fashion is beyond the common everyday look. It dares you to think outside of the box and still makes you feel sexy. There isn't anything that I own from this brand that I don't feel sexy in. Most importantly, how human he is and has remained throughout his success; I don't know him personally, however, his fiery attitude and positive outlook on life are refreshing to me.

  • O.V.H: I believe this brand is one of the few brands I can purchase from without demoing their product (which is not recommended to do). I love how everything fits my avatar. The style is very airy and light but yet grown, sexy, and chic.


Who would be your top two favorite bloggers? "I don't idolize other bloggers because sometimes you tend to take on their way of doing things. Yes, you can sometimes avoid doing that but most you can't. There are many perks to blogging; the support groups that share the common goal of blogging, as well as allow you early access to some events on the grid. Another perk is self-growth – others may not see this as a perk, however, to me, it is. With consistency with your blogging, you can improve in taking and editing your images."

What would you say is the most difficult parts with blogging and vlogging? "Deadlines [laughs]." And, the easiest? "Finally, being able to post when it's all done, that 'Ahh; moment. Also, I enjoy the editing process of the images that go into each post."



Are there any specific starting points that you would recommend for decor as far as places to shop? "When I started decorating it was the era of floating pose balls and building your own sofas [laughs]. Nowadays, there are so many furniture stores, and it's tough to name a few. Each store has their own style from retro, contemporary, vintage, etc. But, for newcomers to Second Life, and or those taking on a decorating project for the first time, I would suggest visiting current events on the grid. It would get them familiar with the creator's style and also allow them to discover new designers."

What would you specifically recommend knowing when starting? "For the new bloggers, do some research on where its best to post your content that fits your style and the audience you would like to attract as well."


"Knowing your brand and what you want to put forth on this platform. Be true to yourself and stick to your own guns. It's easy to get lost in the moment of it all so remain humble. Most importantly, be passionate about what you do. If you don't love what you do it will show."


What would you say is your greatest satisfaction with being a blogger? "There are so many things that brings me great satisfaction in Second Life, and yes, blogging is one of them. It's very freeing for me to return home after a long day at real-life work, log into Second Life and get lost in my own creativity. It makes all the stress of the day melt away for me. But again, that's just one of many. I also enjoy vlogging, creating, and hang out with those I can call friends."


 

Do you want to keep up with Quincy’s blogs, and Vlogs? Then follow her social media below! InstagramFlickrWebsiteYouTube

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Interviewer: @destiny.sl

Copy Editor: Somiar

Related Posts

See All

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page