top of page

Related read

Xvd talks Verve X Magazine’s 24-month streak.

One of the masterminds behind Verve X Magazine:

The Good, The Bad, & The Great.

Xvd talks Verve X Magazine’s 24-month streak.

 

For the last 24 months, Verve X Magazine (VXM) has held a prominent position in IMVU culture. Reporting on family, love, fashion, Greeks and pop culture, VXM has raised the virtual magazine standards by operating efficiently and delivering nothing less than high-quality content. In an exclusive interview, VXM sits with the man behind the scenes, Xvd. The Chief Editor speaks on humble beginnings, operating a successful magazine and enterprise, and issues surrounding IMVU’s magazine scene today.


Humble Beginnings

It was late-2015 when Xvd set out on his new project. He began with the strong desire to create a positive, inspiring and drama-free environment for people. A place they can come together, utilize their skill-sets and excel in doing what they love; while he would express his own creativity and keep productive. It was, then, when he finally established VX Enterprise (VXE) and Verve X Magazine (VXM).


VXM is described by Xvd as,


“The best, most under-appreciated, underrated, quality magazine on IMVU.”


Operating similarly to a real magazine, VXM focuses on a variety of subjects, while each content piece goes through a system of section-managing editors, photographers, writers and copy editors, which he believes is what sets the magazine apart. Each detail surrounding VXM has always been well-thought out, from the brand name and colors, the Instagram feed, the cover features, right down to the nitty-gritty text, colors, and fonts – you name it, Xvd thought of it.


Where did the name “Verve X” come from?

When I was thinking about what to make, what kind of "business" to have, and the people I want to work with, I knew that I wanted to inspire people and be around people that are enthusiastic, vigorous and just proud - which is what the definition of “verve” is, vigour, spirit or enthusiasm. I just really wanted to be around good energy because of past organisations I was part of that had zero of it. The X is just my own trademark, I guess. It was honestly just Verve at first, but then a few peers were disappointed and I'm like, "Sure, I can add X, I guess.” Verve Magazine is also a magazine irl, and I'm against copying irl branding, so I had to add the X.


Triumphant Dreams

Before the first magazine release, Xvd had a clear vision for what he wanted. But with every vision comes a measure of doubt and Xvd was no exception. Thankfully, he was able to push through some really tough moments of self-doubt and frustration as he was fueled by the support from close friends and family; giving up was not an option.


Did you ever think VXM would be as successful as it is?

It's a work in progress. I believe we still have a long way to go. I'm just never satisfied or convinced, there's always something bigger and better. I don't think I ever pictured it to become what it has, but I definitely had a vision for it.


How did you overcome the feelings of giving up?

I talk with Voque. I tell her all of my insecurities and she reassures me.


It seems like she's a huge part of VXM, is this right?

Indeed. She was the first I told my ideas to and we brainstormed together. Of course, I didn't think it would be a magazine, but I knew I wanted something. We brainstormed, then I told her my magazine idea and she was all in.That is why I call us the VXM masterminds, because, although the ideas are mine, I do "consult" her [Xvd laughs]. She is no longer staff, unfortunately. However, she's my go-to for every criticism and advice. No one is harsher on me than she is; she's great and I love it.

It costs to be the “Boss”

Xvd is the Chief Editor, which, by definition, is “a publication's editorial leader who has final responsibility for its operations and policies.” Basically, he is the boss. His final word can determine the articles VXM readers enjoy, the pictures taken, and features of the magazine for the month. Remaining true to his humble nature, though, Xvd isn’t too quick to accept that title, and he definitely has his reasons.


How do you see yourself as a boss?

I don't, I hate that word. It has such a negative emotion attached to it. I also am against anything that shows someone has more "power" over the other. Anyone who acts like a "boss", especially on IMVU, is just purely insecure. I'd like to believe VXM is ours. I don't care if anyone questions me, my authority or wants to step up. If you ask me if I think I'm a leader, then sure. If you want to call me CEO, boss or add a title, sure, but it's not me giving myself that title. If you were to ask me how I am as a Chief Editor, then I would say I'm great [as humble as possible], and I don't say that myself, but because others tell me. Last night, for example, someone told me I always look after VXM's staff and I was like "how do I?" so they gave me a list of things that I do, which I didn't even realise I did because I thought that would be normal. Then I was reminded that it's not normal on IMVU, at all,


“I don't believe in kicking people when they're down, especially when I know the value they bring to the table.”


Core Values

VX Enterprise is the parent-product of Verve X Magazine, VX Photography, and VXM Socialites. It was established December 20, 2015, a little over a month before VXM’s debut, and has since grown and expanded. In order for such progress, some core values and beliefs are in place to ensure constant ascension. Xvd made certain that his staff embodied his own values of honesty, loyalty, and trust.


What are the core values that you have incorporated into VXM?

At VXM, we uphold ourselves to our standard, consistency, professionalism, and respect. I think it's very undervalued how, not only have we been here for two years, but we've been active throughout. Our quality, professionalism, and consistency are important for us. We don't just brand ourselves with these keywords; we practice what we preach.


“It takes a lot for me to open up to people, but when I do, I got you like no one else would in this world.”


Using these values, Xvd sculpted the magazine and the staff. As someone who enjoys conversation, he surrounds himself with people who are “smart, intelligent, drama-free, down-to-earth, chill, interesting, confident, skilled, hardworking people.” He believes that staying true your standards of conduct and refusing to misrepresent yourself is vital to success — and one of the biggest downfall of organizations.


What do you think is generally the biggest flaw in companies?

A lot of people make up something just to say they are this big person on IMVU. Oh, I own 19 companies...okay? That's just dumb in my eyes. People on IMVU like to exaggerate their titles, their awards, etc. I don't understand it. They are quick to make something just to be better/bigger than someone they dislike instead of actually sitting down and thinking it through, whether it's actually something they can commit to, that's why they fail to stick around – they don't do it because they truly want and believe in it.

Moving Forward

With longevity comes change, and VXM has gone through some key changes since its launch in January 2016. For instance, in the beginning, Xvd and Voque handled most of the content in the magazine. These days, there’s help from three different executives now. VXM also has a new platform and staff has grown in quality. VXM Socialites are gaining traction in the IMVU community and are opening up their doors to more reader-involved activity. With a constant wheel of evolution, there is always room for more change, exposure, and involvement. The main focus for the future is to get readers acquainted with the new website, increase community involvement and events, and reveal behind-the-scene workings of VXM. The VXM Socialites also plan to continue growing in the right direction.


Join The Team

Xvd keeps the door open for new faces and ideas while paying mind to the age-old “quality over quantity” rule. The process to become part of the VXM staff is a month-minimum process. “I would like some stable, dependent people on our team, not some people who come and go as they please,” he explained. During this process, they have to function in their roles and report to the seniors for tasks assigned. After the internship, there is an intake interview where “we decide if they become staff, prolong internship, change position, or say goodbye and thank you for trying.”


Is there anything you'd like to say to anyone who would like to become part of the magazine?

I think they need to just contact us, don't be afraid. I know a lot of our staff started out as readers. So, just press that apply button but please don't join just to add up to your resume – we're not that kind of magazine.


Do you remember your #1 favorite article or interview of the last two years?

Anything RicanDivinity, Voque, IEspoirI or NabilaHomage wrote is just wow, I really like their writing style. Personally, my favourite interview was with Grandpa or Iish, and I also enjoyed the interview Voque and I had back in Feb 2016.


How do you select your front cover features?

It's handpicked by yours truly, Xvd. Some people pay for it or donate, but I pick the covers. I, also, consult with the VXM Executives. We all know I didn’t pick the cover for issue 24, I was out-voted!


Do you have any advice to those starting up a new organization?

Think about it, really do. If it's something that exists or there's a lot of it, join others. IMVU has a lot of companies and organisations every week – why not unite together to make something great? Quit trying to compete and focus on you, your qualities and abilities. You’re not like everyone else so stop trying to be.


SPECIAL MESSAGES


To VXM Sponsors

Thank you for the overwhelming support! I was honestly nervous at first, that package is not cheap! I didn't think we'd get so many, 20 and still counting, wow. It means a lot that they trust to add their names to our brand. It's one thing to support and repost on Social Media, but investing so much RL money into a magazine says a lot to me. The sponsors are people who are well-known and established, in their own ways so that speaks volume.


To VXM Staff

Keep being great! It takes a lot to be a VXM staff, it's not just a title, they work every week, consistently to produce new content every month. We haven't gone inactive or take a break since we started and we couldn't have done it without staff. I know I'm complicated to deal with too, so thanks!


To VXM Fans and Readers

Support us more ;)

 

Disclaimer: the personal views and opinions written in this post are from the writer and do not always express the professional opinion and views of Verve X Magazine.

Cover: Nahz & Xvd

Interviewer: RicanDivinity

Copy Editor: Voque

Photographer: Kongan & Xvd

Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page