top of page

Related read

FrankieDelRey: Top Doll


In 2012, Destinyy Evanns was a model with a big dream; that dream was to open her own modelling agency. After she received inspiring words from someone who was special in her life, she created the DOLL we see today. They just finished their fifth cycle, and we had a chance to catch up with the winner FrankieDelRay.


Can you tell the readers about yourself?

Oh boy- I'm not really that much of a person. I'm an anime weeaboo that nerds about playing Civilization, it might not seem like it at first but I have a soft grasp on Fashion and designing in real life. I would also like to mention i’m a guy I think only a handful of know that. It is also something I forget to mention.


Who inspires you in fashion?

Too many people have inspired me, but the two main people would be Madame Mado, a locally famous Drag Queen in Montreal, because of their out of this world fashion and Karl Lagerfeld for his elegant but minimalist looks. Oh I would just like to mention.


What does it mean to you to be a Top Doll and to win this All Star season?

Well, for me, being Top Doll is having the willingness to give it your all and not being afraid of getting out of your comfort zone when it comes to creativity. It means also to be able to embrace change. That and more is what it takes to also win DOLL.


What set you aside from the others?

I believe that what set me aside was that I tried not to go with the familiar. Each challenge I would try to find a different approach, I would stray from the devs that I'm too familiar with.


What was challenging to you about taking on DOLL again?

Editing has always been a challenge for me and I was trying to improve my skills, even when I think that the odds are against me. I try not to be discouraged when something doesn't work the way I wanted it to. If someone points it out, I'll do my best to improve it, and to learn from it.


What was your favorite part of doing DOLL All Stars?

The challenges mostly. You never know what Des will dish out every time and when it's something you might be expecting, there's always some sort of twist to it. Every challenge forces me to tap into my creativity and keeps it going.


How did you feel about the competition and your competitors this go around?

At first, I can honestly say that I was a bit intimidated. I stopped modeling for maybe more than a year or so, so when seeing someone in DOLL with their more recent modeling skills while I was stuck in my old ways, I felt that I would not be up to par to be in the competition or to be competing with the competitors, but the more I went into it, the more I believed that it doesn't matter what or where your skill level is, if you're determined enough, you're equal to everyone in this competition.


Anything you're taking from being on this season into furthering your career?

I'm taking all the advices that the judges have given me and maybe I'll be able to pursue more and go back into model.


Any advice for future DOLL contestants?

My advice for any future Doll contestants is: Don't be afraid to take risks, if it doesn't come out the way that you wanted it to, take that mistake and improve it, make it better. Also don't be afraid of your creativity, even if it looks hard to execute, try it out.


Interviewer: Katherina

Writer: Katherina

Editor: Somiar + Voque



Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

DEESSE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page