top of page

Related read

Model Slayhem Cycle 1 Winner: Kartierre


Model Slayhem is a modeling competition created and launched by Cookiee in December 2015. It combines the creative and competitive aspects of modeling, centered on growth. After months of hard work, dedication and creative creations, Model Slayhem is happy to announce cycle 1 winner: Kartierre

 

We must say, it is a pleasure to be in the presence of the Cycle 1 Winner of Model Slayhem. How does it feel?

It feels surreal, really. I entered the competition not knowing my limits, so I really surprised myself and discovered what I was capable of. To me, being the Cycle 1 Winner signifies a great level of public appreciation for my work, and that is an honor in itself.


When you applied, did you scope out the competition? And if so, did you feel as if your odds of winning were not in your favor?

I had my doubts, indeed. There were so many outstanding applications, initially, and the high skill level of the models carried on throughout the entire cycle. When I applied, I knew it was going to be a tough competition and I was right!


Would you say there was someone you felt was your main competition?

I would say all of the models were extremely talented and were all my competition. However, the competition intensified when it reached the final five. It was then, when I felt I had the biggest competition.


How did you handle the stress of the final five? What was something that kept you focused, motivated and determined?

It was the thought of 'anything could happen' - regardless of what we had achieved throughout the whole cycle, one small mistake could send us home, and I didn't want to leave after all my hard work.


That is very true. Approximately how many challenges did you win throughout the entire cycle?

I won six challenges in total.


was one of them your least favorite that you were surprised you won?

I think the most surprising was Round 10, a Betsey Johnson runway round. I had no prior runway experience then, so it was really a surprising outcome.


Even though it was a competition, did you find yourself making friends with anyone that you were competing against?

Definitely. Everyone was super friendly, and that kept the entire competition drama-free. I have made some great friends through there, which I still talk to today.


Have you been involved in other modeling competitions in the past? If so, how do those competitions compare to Model Slayem as far as your experience?

Model Slayhem was my first competition, however, I did compete in around three other competitions simultaneously thereafter.


"I found that Model Slayhem was different to a lot of the others, particularly in the scoring aspect. I really liked how judges were to rank the models, rather than to provide a physical score. The organisation of this competition was also superb."

What led you to join a modeling competition, more specifically, Model Slayhem?

I think it was Cookiee, who initially sent me a message about Model Slayhem. Out of curiosity, I joined the group and happy with what I saw, I signed up.


While modeling throughout the competition, is there anything you wish you would have done differently, despite the outcome of winning?

I mean, none of my entries were perfect, so there's always room for improvement in that aspect. However, I don't regret anything. If everything I did was perfect, I wouldn't have learnt the things I have from the constructive feedback given by the judges, and I probably wouldn't have achieved what I have.


Prior to joining this competition, were you a model elsewhere? If not, how did you learn to model as well as you did?

I don't think I've ever called myself a model. I ran two modeling agencies and edited for a range of creators, but I never did the modeling myself. The only modeling I did do, was for my clothing brand. I learnt a lot from all of the other models in Model Slayhem, and a ton from the judges' critiques.


I would imagine from winning you have inspired a lot of individuals to pursue modeling. Is there any advice you would give?

As cliché and as corny as it sounds, be yourself. After all, what you're showcasing is YOU - what you're capable of and your willingness to learn and adapt. You need to know what kind of model you are. To please others, you must please yourself. Also, think outside the box and show that you are different from the rest. You don't need to do something just because another person is doing it. Be unique. Lastly, stay humble and be genuine. Learn to appreciate others around you and never put someone down. Faking your way to the top will never work and in the end, sincerity will always defeat arrogance.


What does it mean to you being crowned the winner of Model Slayhem Cycle 1?

Winning itself isn't everything. It's rather what I have taken away from the competition. Throughout the last couple of months I've met and worked with some incredible people, did things I never thought I could do, and learnt an awful lot about myself. As I said before, to win, means that you all love appreciate the work I do and that is what keeps me motivated. I cannot thank everyone enough for the ongoing support I have received during and after the competition.


Now that the competition is over, what is next for Kartierre?

I think I'm going to take a break from competing right now. I'm going to focus on spending time with my close friends, and also on creating. In fact, my close friend and business partner, Lavere, and I are in search for the next face of our brand, Fiori, and we have established a modeling competition for that. It's called "Fiori - The Competition" (very original, we know) and we encourage all models to apply! Furthermore, I can't wait to judge Cycle 2 of Model Slayhem!


Amazing. I truly wish you and your business partner, Lavere, the best of luck with your business venture and upcoming modeling competition. Thank you so much meeting with me.

Thank you so much for this opportunity and I am truly thankful for everyone that has supported me on my Model Slayhem journey!


Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

DEESSE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page