top of page

Related read

CREATOR INTERVIEW: QUILL

“Keep it Minimal. Keep it QUILL.”

 

First off, I just want to thank you for taking the time to meet with us this evening. It is a true pleasure to be here with you.

Oh no, thank you for having me and for considering me for the magazine.


Quill, would you mind telling us a little about yourself?

Everyone knows me as Quill, but my name is Misty. I'm currently in school right now taking Travel, Tourism and Flight Attendant preparation. I've been on IMVU for about 6 years now, but for about 2 years I stopped because I was simply busy partying and exploring in real life. After 2 years of figuring out what I wanted to do with my life, I moved out of my old city to take myself away from distraction and pursued my studying. My life right now is just school, work, eat, sleep and IMVU. Obviously I take a bath too lol.


Prior to your absence on IMVU, were you a creator already? If so, were you one under a different name?

I’ve only created for 3 years. Everything is new to me because there are new trends. Head meshes are a thing now and Instagram has become a big part of IMVU which was crazy.


Were you always known as Quill?

I was already known as Quill when I started creating but before that I've had silly names.


What style did you originally create?

I was a hipster, pastel, gothic - you name it! Whatever was trending I was that. I used to create "PASTEL" clothing. Very different to what I'm right now.


What intrigued upon your return to get back into creating?

To be honest...it’s the money that I used to make from selling my credits for dollars. Back in 2013, my best seller was my floral printed shorts, where in 2013-2014 I started making a lot. IMVUCE was a thing before and they used to buy and sell credits to creators, but then IMVU changed that rules but they still pay you money which is good. So, that’s the reason why I'm back here.


Now that you are creating, would you say your shop content has changed? If so, what made you change your creating style?

My shop content had changed a lot... from pastel to minimal. I used to create whatever was trending just to please my customers and get more sales; but now, I base my products to my own style in real life, inspired by ZARA—my favorite clothing store here in Vancouver, Canada.


Do you feel as if you brought the minimalistic style to live in IMVU?

I don't really want to claim anything but I've never seen a minimalist person here on IMVU but myself ironically.


Now that it is obvious that you are back full throttle, what can some of your customers expect to see from you?

Besides for some more minimal products, my Instagram is almost close to getting 1k followers and that means I will be doing giveaways of my products soon.


How does it feel to see followers wear your products?

I feel appreciated because my hard work are being notice. Whenever I see a notification of someone tagging to their OOTD (outfit of the day) photos, I feel like I have this purpose to satisfy my customers with my work and that my credits are not being wasted and that’s what motivates me more to create.


Now that you are gaining more recognition in the public eye, do you feel you are getting closer to becoming a PRO?

I am hoping so, but what is a badge if your work is not worth it.


If and when you gain that status, what would that mean to you?

It will gain my confidence towards creating that is for sure. I've had the pro badge before but was taken due to being inactive. As much as possible, I want to remain humble with my achievements and inspired other people with creating because I was ones a noob at creator.


How do you stay humble in such a competitive industry?

By leaving all the pressure behind and instead enjoy and share all my achievements with my friends. It only becomes competitive if you don't have your own style.


Besides, Zara, where else do you pull your creative inspiration from?

From my favorite bloggers! ToThe9s. They are amazing! haha You should check them out.


Where do you see your brand going by the end of this year?

First page in the shop. Don’t we all want that. But if anything…I would want to see IMVU recommending my products in the shop search.


What does it mean to you being offered and accepting a membership with a creator group, such as VAEL?

I feel like my hard work is being recognized and it motivates me to even work harder and be better, knowing that someone could see potentials on me is an achievement for me. And that make me feel like I have achieved my goals.


Is there anything you would like the readers to know or be on the lookout for?

I love all my followers because they are the main reason why I’m where I am right now and they should really watch out for giveaways! Also, that I'm on Tumblr posting my OOTDs and some of my artwork!



Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

DEESSE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page