top of page

Related read

Alo, from The United.

At only 18 years young, Alo studies at University, is a Pro-Creator and has very recently started her own developing group along with her good friend Glams@IMVU. In this interview we find out what inspired her to start her own group after being turned down by another and why she came up with the name ‘The United.’

 

Can you start with a brief introduction about yourself?

My name is Helena, many people know me by my username Alo@IMVU. I am 18 years of age. I am on IMVU to create meet new people get away from my real life. All that fun stuff. I currently live in Boston Mass attending Tufts University.

How long have you been on IMVU?

I’ve been on IMVU for about 6 years.

How did you find out about IMVU?

I found out through my aunt who is no longer active. She’s recently passed away.

I’m sorry for your loss. Was your aunt a creator too?

No, she wasn’t into it.

How did you get into creating?

I’d have to say I got into creating from loving art. I always had a passion for artistic people and activities.

Who helped you get started?

Well when I started I didn’t really know anyone who created so I pretty much learned everything on my own with watching tutorials, and messing around with things in gimp or photoshop. It was difficult at first, but when you put your mind to something you’ll succeed at anything you wish to be or want to be.

You mentioned you love art. Do you draw as well?

I do draw, but I am not very good. I practice sometimes, but I usually get too busy between school work, and work.

How many products on average do you think you create a week?

That honestly depends on how much I am into something or how much I am motivated to do it. If I just did things off at random I would probably say about 30 to 60 products a week.

Impressive. Where do you get the inspiration to create?

I get inspiration everywhere. It can be at school, work, or just me walking about. I also find things online. I try to avoid tumblr because that is where most of these newer developers get their ideas. I rather be original as much as possible and by looking on tumblr just isn’t original.

You go to school, work and just started your own developing group. I must ask, where do you find your time and how do you manage it?

Alo: Well my schedule is three classes a week. I work part time, but lately my hours have been cut. So I am taking this free time I have on my hands to make something of myself and others on here.

Moving on to your new and upcoming group, can you tell us about The United?

Well “The United” was born when I was denied to join The Coast. I thought about it before deciding to try The Coast. My plan for The United is to show that you can bring creators of different styles of creating together. It’s not only about creators getting together, and to create for fame. It’s about making friends, and to support one another. I want to show people not all creators are the same. People have their own opinions on things. They may think being a solo developer is way better then working with others. The United is there for developers to come together and work as a team to become something. We are a team that strives, and works hard for great things.

I like your idea behind it. Now, maybe this might be too personal to ask. But may we know why were you denied to join The Coast?

I was denied because people like to hate on people they don’t even know. It was probably a jealousy thing to be honest. The idea of me joining The Coast came about when I first started talking to Allura@IMVU. She was very supportive of me when we first met. We’ve became the greatest of friends. She is the person who actually convinced me to strive for greater things as a creator for IMVU’s catalog.

When was The United created?

The United was created exactly four days ago, on April 9th. With the help of Glams@IMVU.

Besides your attempt to join The Coast, have you been a part of any other developing group before?

I’ve never been apart of a developing group or team before. So it was all very new to me.

How did you choose the name?

The name came to me when I was thinking of how I wanted to run the group. Uniting creators and artists. And thus came, The United.

Speaking of uniting creators and artists, how many members do you have?

As of now, the group has 197 members and 21 team members.

Only 4 days and you have 21 team members. How did that happen so fast?

Well I asked a few friends who’d be interested, and it just grew from there. The word about the group spread very quickly.

You know a great amount of people then to gather over 20 people in just 4 days. Do you see The United recruiting?

AIn the future I think we will be recruiting more. Depending on the team’s activity. But as of now we’re no longer recruiting more team members.

Among those 21 members, do you have creators and artists?

Yes, we have two artists, and the rest are creators.

Are there any requirements for a team member?

The only requirements I have for the team is to be loyal to your group/team, use the group logo on your icon or watermark your art with the logo to represent the group, and to just do you.

What about the products the creators create?

The creators can do as they please with their shops. I don’t require them to put our logo on their textures. Nothing like that is needed unless they choose to.

Who is in charge for the graphics of the group itself?

I mostly control them as of now, with the help of a few team members.

How do you plan to keep the group active for the public?

We plan to do weekly contests, and have the public model for products. So everyone can have a part to play in the group. We accept anyone willing to be apart of something.

What do you see for The United in the next 3 months?

I see us growing into a large inspiration for others to make something of their IMVU lives.

What do you think of people that boosts their products?

Oh my god. You sure you want my opinion? I think people that boost their products are pathetic. They don’t deserve what they get from the products they boost. I don’t think it’s fair to cheat your way to success. Meanwhile other creators bust their asses to make a name for themselves. There, I said it nicely.

What is your motto?

My motto is just strive for greatness and to be yourself while doing it.

Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

DEESSE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page