top of page

Related read

TWC's CEO: MrRedx


 

What does TWC stand for and when was it established?

The Winners Circle, in 2013

What inspired you to create TWC?

I saw that IMVU was lacking a breed of men that could actually put their best skills and talents out there for the public. I also saw a lack in productive businesses, sophistication and alpha males so I decided to do some extensive research and I scouted some of the best business men on IMVU. I created TWC which is an underground society, invitation only, and we put our heads together and launched a big business. We all have some sort of strong skill so we do branding, project expansion and investment.

What is TWC about? Is it fashion-focused?

Well on the branding side, I could say we kind of fell into the fashion world because we carry ourselves as supreme gentlemen. So, you’ll find my men in very nice suits. We put that classic, old school oxford gent back on the map with some swag long before Jidenna. Mainly during off season (January-August) we have venues in NYC which we run and host events. During the holiday season we host major events such as our TWC Crown Royal and Mr. GQ, where we invested over 500K.

Impressive indeed. 500K is a huge investment. Can you tell us a little more about TWC Crown Royal and Mr. GQ?

Yes. So, as of now those events have been retired but this year’s shows have had such great responses. I don’t know if they will let me stay off the radar! But our TWC GQ is where 20-30 men are nominated and shortlisted to a top 5 where they compete for 100K, prizes, magazine spreads, a car and a TWC contract. Every year has a theme so this year was our 1st year international in London. Our Mr. GQ winner Bvmbino took the cash. Our Crown Royal is the female event which we had furs and diamonds hosted in Moscow, Russia. Gawd took the Crown with the 100K also.

That’s interesting. How do you select the winner?

They are judged on fashion sense in 3 chosen categories and questions. For example, Classic Man, After Dark, Royal Affair, etc. They are scored by 3 judges. So that is very much the fashion piece.

Why was it retired?

Well we have been pumping 3 years solid and on IMVU that can feel like 10 years. So specifically, my retirement was to just get back to some things that I think keep me a balanced person like my family, RL and work, but honestly I love what I do on here so it’s fire. I’m sure I’ll be in the mix like always. “We won Best Organization of IMVU at the iBangerz awards this year.” I can’t just leave the people hanging. We do have some new stuff coming up.

Can you enlighten us about what’s upcoming?

So our venues are well known. We have The TWC Shirazi Lounge in the West Village, The TWC Suit & Tie Lounge/Rooftop in the Upper East Side, the TWC Doo Wop Lounge in Harlem and our TWC Sports bar in Midtown. We are going to do more unique events in the community and interactive gaming outside IMVU. We have our Wine and Paint night coming up in February. Name that Tune and Latin Fusion will be some of the different events we haven’t done.

Now, you mentioned that TWC is an underground society, invitation only. How do you go about your invitations and what makes you invite someone?

Well, the first thing I hear is “Oh, you’re like a fraternity” - Not quite. Yes there is brotherhood, but it’s more business-oriented. When I scout, I have people looking at the whole person. We dig up information on their business, success, work history, personality and style. I only accept males of certain type - I look for maturity and finesse, someone well-dressed.

Does your men have any positions and/or titles within TWC?

Yes. My 1st son, Alejandro “Elect” Redx is the Jr. Vice President. I’ve been grooming my sons from a young age. Don is our Chief Financial Officer and Jay is my Executive Tech of Internal Operations, the Webmaster. And, my investors, they’re top secret [smirks]

I didn’t know too much about TWC, but this sounds exciting.

Well, you learn something new everyday. [MrRedx smiles] and that is the thing man, we are on the extremes, you either know us well or not at all. This year I want to close that gap a bit. We have been diversifying our market, trying new marketing through word of mouth and Instagram.

What are some challenges TWC has faced and how do you deal with that?

Well I would say for me as a CEO it would be managing a large team in different capacities. You’re dealing with a lot of different personalities so sometimes people don’t always see eye to eye, but I treat my team like family, with limitations [laughs]. My team is very clear about what I expect from the top-down so it’s just a matter of hashing it out.

What are some of the responsibilities of members who are without positions?

“I believe that everyone is important and vital to success.” So in my eyes, everyone has a position. The titles don’t make my team; it just outlines the responsibilities and accountability. My branding division, which is my bartenders, stylists and editors, they are all doing what they love.

Do you think it’s hard to find mature, professional and sophisticated men on here?

Absolutely. But I’m a pretty good judge of character. Don’t get me wrong, I have made some mistakes [MrRedx grins] but to me, a conversation should flow and when we talk about business I can tell who is serious about their craft.

That’s right. Before we wrap it up, are there any last words or comments you would like to say to the readers?

Again, thank you to those who voted for us as Best Organization of IMVU and we can’t wait to see some old and new faces for 2016!

Thank you so much for taking the time to be here today. I’ll be looking forward to the TWC events!

Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page