top of page

Related read

Vibage

Verve X Magazine had the opportunity to meet with and interview, Vibage@IMVU, personally known as Kara, who not only is she the owner of Unique Modelling Competition (UMC), but is a model, an Instagram blogger, a mother of two beautiful girls, and a very down-to-earth young lady. We found out what inspired her to step into the modeling industry, what UMC deals with, and the obstacles she has faced.

What led you to a modeling career, and when did you start?

Well, it started 2 years ago. I was working for this other magazine and they needed a replacement, once [I got] in front of the camera, I loved it. Then I moved on to iBangerz for a while, Diversity Magazine with my twin Rico, and [then I] developed my own for a while, Diversions, partnered with my twin. I like to transform and become something or someone different. That's why I love it.

What intrigued you to start your own modeling competition?

I have to say, after I was in a few [competitions] and [saw] how they were run, it disappointed me a little. I say that because they didn't let a few of the plus-sized models in when they were better than the others on the applications. And the favoritism on some of them, like how she score more than me when her blur and shadows were all off. I wanted to start mine to show we accept you as you are, and to just be free with it.

How long have you been running your modeling competition?

I started it this year, I believe, March 2016. We are going on Cycle 4 but application is up for those [interested] to apply.

does UMC stand to be a worthy competitor in the ever growing industry?

I would say so because we accept people as they are. I do say, I go for the underdogs, the models that want to grow and learn more. Not the ones that do it just for the cash prize or for those that are well-known. I have made it through three cycles and we are still growing with viewers. I do see others getting more shine but I'm not out to kiss peoples’ a** to get seen or known. I want to do this to help models grow. I'm looking for the ones that want to say they learned from my competition, not just have judges tear them a new a**hole and bring their self-esteem down.

Has there been any changes since the competition first began earlier this year? If so, why?

I try to bring in new judges each cycle. I plan out the themes so I know what week is what. The only other change is, you have to edit each theme as of Cycle 3, because I want to see your editing grow with you.

What do you look for when shortlisting applications?

I try to look for a sense of style and how they approach the challenge on the application. I like to see if they can follow directions and not just scheme through it like, “Oh, I got this.”

Have you come across underdogs in UMC, and how did they step it up to outshine the others?

Yes there has been a few that were underdogs. I will take Cycle 2 winner, Gene, for example. To me, he wasn't the best at editing but each week he did wow us and bring something different each challenge. He really wowed us at the Runway Finale with his looks and he won the whole thing. He improved by listening to our critiques and asking questions if he was stuck. Even now on Cycle 3, I would say Nika has been an underdog as well, and she is now in the top 3. She has improved through the whole competition and I can't wait to see what her looks are for the Finale Sunday.

How do you ensure that there isn't favoritism in your competition, since this seems to be a reoccurring issue in many modeling competitions and agencies?

So far, none of the models or judges know each other at all. I haven't seen favoritism but a few have pointed it out to me that there maybe one, where I don't personally see it. To ensure there isn't, I read over every judges critiques and see if they missed anything on the challenge that needed to be pointed out or if the score don't match the critiques then that's when I jump in.

What type of challenges are involved in your competition?

Pretty much a little bit of everything. We try to think outside the box, or if it's a challenge that’s already out, we revamp it. We make the models really think about how they can make it work. That’s reason I want to see their work as an edit, not just a pic on a white background.

Can you give me an example of a challenge, tell me why you chose it and what were you looking for?

I'll take a theme from Cycle 1. They had to do Gender Bender Freestyle, where they had to pose as both in the edit and be interacting with each other as well. I chose it to see if they can pull off both looks really. Most people in the industry ask you do you do both avis, and many don't know you do get more booking work when you can do both. So I wanted to test the waters.

Do you have any expectations from the crowned winners after the competition? And what are some of the perks of winning?

The perks, well of course they get a grand prize of 50K this cycle along with a few other things. As in representing the competition, I still want them to be them. They don't have to change because they won. I still see the previous winners work on here and Instagram when they post. They are improving and I am proud of them.

What advice would you give to future applicants?

The most important advice is just be yourself. Don't start out phony and fake. Be real and true to yourself. Don't change because you are entering a competition; we love originality and realness. Also, the main reason I have Meet & Greets before the competition starts is that I like to see how they interact with the other models and judges as well.

What experience do you seek in the judges?

I like to see honesty on a critique; if it’s ugly say it, and if it’s gorg say it. That’s the reason why I add 3 images on the judge's application for them to judge. If it doesn't seem real, or worded right, I don’t go for them. And I also look if they have had some experience as a model or judge.

Do you accept males and females in your competition? If so, how do you balance each challenge to be applicable for both sexes?

I accept both in my competition. I plan my themes out so both genders to do them. I don't like to do half a** themes where its only women. No, if a male wants to apply they can. Planning is key when doing themes, don't just assume a guy isn't going to apply. Because once you get one then you are stuck like, omgg how they gonna do it. I have seen plenty where they have the Doll/Barbie theme and nothing for the guy to do. I plan once a cycle starts on my next one.

Thank you for joining us today, Kara. It’s been a pleasure.

Related Posts

See All

VIXTEE

DEESSE

recent read

WEBSITE BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP

bottom of page